We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HONEYMOON HEAVEN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HONEYMOON HEAVEN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

The atmosphere was funky and fun, and every member of the staff went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. Every detail was perfect; from valet parking and check-in to the large red penguin that greeted us in the room. Our corner suite was fabulously luxurious and left nothing to want even including a loaded Ipod in the bedside dock. Our “best men” couldn’t have chosen a better place for us to spend our wedding night, as 21C provided the perfect ending to a perfect day! We will definitely stay here again soon!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drbobo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    191
    48
    17
    11
See reviews for
150
466
54
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

OK, the artwork is charming and the staff was friendly. But the rooms? I thought they were just average at a premium price for Louisville. I stayed for 8 nights in one of their "suites", which was just a big room. It was noisy and the decor was fine but not particularly outstanding. I really think the big fuss is mainly about trendy feeling of the place and the uniqueness of the original art.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pirk1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

21cMuseum Hotel is a great choice! Clean rooms and a wonderful staff. From booking our stay to checking out, we were very pleased with the attention to detail from the staff.
If you are staying in Louisville, 21c Hotel is your best choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

We really enjoyed the 21c. The rooms were awesome. I like the downtown location although downtown Louisville is pretty dead after 10 pm. But if you are going to Louisville and can afford it then this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegastravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

The 21c Museum hotel is a surprise. First, there are the penguins. Nothing like getting back to your room at night and finding a red four foot penguin in your bed or one in your bathtub wearing a shower cap. When they join you at dinner the penguins wear bibs. Great, humorous touch. The staff is very courteous and aware. The bison burgers are outstanding. I want to know how they get the floor of their downstairs gallery to look like water over concrete. It is so shiny that you think it is wet. And there are the books in the bar. The Book of Big Boobs was a particularly interesting coffee table book of "art" photography from the forties and fifties. All in all the hotel is a hoot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KARXPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

I forgot what a great hotel feels like. The rooms at 21C aren't the most glamorous, but the feel of the entire hotel is amazing. The staff helped us plan our tip to Louisville and were quick with restaurant suggestions. They helped book spa appointments which were handled flawlessly. They reached out to us numerous times before, during and after our visit to make sure we were 100% satisfied with everything. I will go back to Louisville just to stay at 21C. That's not even to mention the very cool museum and wonderful restaurant and bar Proof on Main. After traveling for business on almost a weekly basis, it was great to find the oasis which is 21C. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is a nice hotel with a gimmick; there is lots of original art around and they have their own art gallery. The rooms are large and well-appointed, spare and modern. You might think you've wandered into a factory when you walk down the hall to your room. The front desk was fine, the people friendly and helpful, but it seemed about like the service you'd find at any good hotel. I paid extra money for a "City View." Don't bother. All that means is that you hear street noise and you have a view of the dull streets in front of the hotel. I was on the top floor and the view was certainly not worth paying extra money. Also, there was about a one inch gap at the bottom of the room door, so you hear noise from the hall. I solved that by putting two of the fancy pillows on the bed on the floor at the door. The location isn't great, not much around the hotel to do or see. The restaurant is very good, I did a bourbon tasting of some local niche distillers and it was fun, also had a Bison prime rib....yum! While this is a very nice property and the staff is professional, I really can't see this being named the number one hotel in the U.S. by Conde Nast Traveler, or number 6 in the world. Evidently the Conde Nast people have been so crippled by the downturn in magazine revenue that they can't afford to travel very much. I've stayed in some of the nicest hotels in this and other countries and, while this is a very good hotel, it certainly is not the best hotel in the U.S. Oh, and the art tends toward the flashy and superficial. Lots of images of people looking either moony or vacant, for example. Your choices in hotels in Louisville aren't great, so I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing