We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, Funky, Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool, Funky, Nice”
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We really enjoyed the 21c. The rooms were awesome. I like the downtown location although downtown Louisville is pretty dead after 10 pm. But if you are going to Louisville and can afford it then this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegastravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    227
    54
    23
    13
See reviews for
177
532
63
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The 21c Museum hotel is a surprise. First, there are the penguins. Nothing like getting back to your room at night and finding a red four foot penguin in your bed or one in your bathtub wearing a shower cap. When they join you at dinner the penguins wear bibs. Great, humorous touch. The staff is very courteous and aware. The bison burgers are outstanding. I want to know how they get the floor of their downstairs gallery to look like water over concrete. It is so shiny that you think it is wet. And there are the books in the bar. The Book of Big Boobs was a particularly interesting coffee table book of "art" photography from the forties and fifties. All in all the hotel is a hoot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KARXPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I forgot what a great hotel feels like. The rooms at 21C aren't the most glamorous, but the feel of the entire hotel is amazing. The staff helped us plan our tip to Louisville and were quick with restaurant suggestions. They helped book spa appointments which were handled flawlessly. They reached out to us numerous times before, during and after our visit to make sure we were 100% satisfied with everything. I will go back to Louisville just to stay at 21C. That's not even to mention the very cool museum and wonderful restaurant and bar Proof on Main. After traveling for business on almost a weekly basis, it was great to find the oasis which is 21C. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

This is a nice hotel with a gimmick; there is lots of original art around and they have their own art gallery. The rooms are large and well-appointed, spare and modern. You might think you've wandered into a factory when you walk down the hall to your room. The front desk was fine, the people friendly and helpful, but it seemed about like the service you'd find at any good hotel. I paid extra money for a "City View." Don't bother. All that means is that you hear street noise and you have a view of the dull streets in front of the hotel. I was on the top floor and the view was certainly not worth paying extra money. Also, there was about a one inch gap at the bottom of the room door, so you hear noise from the hall. I solved that by putting two of the fancy pillows on the bed on the floor at the door. The location isn't great, not much around the hotel to do or see. The restaurant is very good, I did a bourbon tasting of some local niche distillers and it was fun, also had a Bison prime rib....yum! While this is a very nice property and the staff is professional, I really can't see this being named the number one hotel in the U.S. by Conde Nast Traveler, or number 6 in the world. Evidently the Conde Nast people have been so crippled by the downturn in magazine revenue that they can't afford to travel very much. I've stayed in some of the nicest hotels in this and other countries and, while this is a very good hotel, it certainly is not the best hotel in the U.S. Oh, and the art tends toward the flashy and superficial. Lots of images of people looking either moony or vacant, for example. Your choices in hotels in Louisville aren't great, so I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I highly enjoyed my stay at the 21c and the "Just Add Bourbon" Package. Everything exceeded expectations and my husband greatly enjoyed his birthday trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleLifeintheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Outstanding quality in every respect, excellent location, fine dining on premisis, exceptional staff

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airdale2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Hotel is very unique with the whole museum theme. Staff was friendly. Valet service was very prompt and quick. Many reviews seem to suggest the high level of service, but I found they were poor at attention to detail.

My example is that is was to be a romantic weekend and I ordered several extras, flowers, bourbon & truffles in room upon arrival and the "rose petal turndown" for our first night. We did not get the turndown or any turndown service. The next day I informed the staff and just got a "sorry about that, I'll make sure it is taken care of for tonight" . So on the second night we did get a turndown, but no rose petals. (we were also billed for it). Upon check-out I noted this and they took off bill, but there was not much more of an apology than that. I would expect for a highly rated hotel to either not make such a mistake, twice! or do offer some sort of consolation for my dissatisfaction. When I am at a four star or more hotel and am paying a premium, I expect to be treated much better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 97 in Louisville
1,912 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 97 in Louisville
1,372 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 97 in Louisville
3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 97 in Louisville
1,702 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Louisville
885 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing