We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll stay at 21C every time we're in Louisville!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll stay at 21C every time we're in Louisville!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

What a beautiful hotel. We all wished we stayed longer. The rooms are appointed with simple, contemporary decor - so refreshing from the typical hotel in this price point trying to be so grand and all that... So much more sophisticated. Even the window treatments rocked. The beds were glorious. ipod with a zillions tunes in the room. The soaps and shampoos were fun - peppermint and other aromas - not the nasty perfumy stuff elsewhere.
I ordered cookies and milk for a treat for the kids, and it was delivered exactly on time. A bit pricey, though, but fun to do once.
The gallery was also fun to check out. A great range of work to see.
Unfortunately, we didn't check out the restaurant or bar because we had a previously booked event, but did pop in to check out the vibe - definitely will be trying it next time.
The neighborhood also looks like it has a lot to offer, though we didn't have time to check it out this time.
The staff were friendly and helpful. They actually looked me in the eye and spoke to me during check-in - not just the robotic, almost wordless processing I've experienced elsewhere. Good recommendations, too. (Lynne's Paradise Cafe - not sure which is better - looking at the decor or the food!)
We loved it so much, we are planning to come back in the spring. I typically do not like to repeat experiences, and would normally try a new place, but not this time...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aujusazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    191
    48
    17
    11
See reviews for
150
466
54
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

We were in the process of moving to Louisville and chose to stay at 21c until we got settled in our new place. We were completely bowled over by the friendly staff and contemporary design. As art lovers, we thoroughly enjoyed the concept of the hotel, museum and restaurant, and even the personal touches in our room. We even brought along our dog, who was welcomed just as enthusiastically as we were. Even if art (or contemporary art) aren't your thing, the collection at 21c is just plain fun. Don't forget to stop by Proof for the exquisite fair (try the octopus!). The wait staff was more than helpful in welcoming us to town and even recommended some other great places to eat.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaS4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

My wife and needed a brief getaway and "the grandparents" offered to babysit to give us that opportunity. We decided to go Louisville's downtown, near the riverfront, to take in the attractions. The 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main provided exactly what we were looking for. Walking distance to the theater and bars, unrivaled cuisine in the hotel restaurant, energetic staff eager to please and onsite massage treatments for us both.

We would definitely go back given the chance.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mastomela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville Ky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Fantastic evening, wonderful food at "Proof" their restaurant, Great service, will definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAS-IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

I travel weekly for business. If it were up to me I would have a 21c museum hotel in each one of my six cities that I visit. Not only are the beds the most comfortable beds, the rooms are spotless but the staff set the standard in hospitality. From the time you walk in the door (someone will be there to open it for you) to the check in you get the feeling that they are welcoming you into their home. It is in a great location near some fantastic restaurants including the one in the hotel...
I would defineately recommend to any business traveller as well as personal visits. The people are fantastic

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grayaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

Oh my, where to begin? We arrived on a Friday afternoon, and were immediately thrilled by the fabulous 21C limo parked out front; the prompt and courteous valet; the jaw-droppingly beautiful artwork in the lobby and the bright and cheerful Amy at the front desk. We were on our way up to our room when we spotted to interactive video poem wall by the elevators...all I can say is if I win the lottery, I am commissioning that artist to recreate that wall in my home. The room was gorgeous, the toiletries provided were amazing and the food from room service was fast and delicious. We walked around the galleries that evening, along with our glasses of wine from the bar (that's right, you can walk around the gallery AND drink your wine). The galleries are filled with amazing artwork and I was very impressed. Brunch in the restaurant Saturday morning was phenominal and our hostess, Morgan, was the best. She was insightful and funny, telling us all about the foods we had ordered and even going so far as to draw, by hand no less, a map with directions for us to get to the one store in Louisville we wanted to find. 21C was all around fantastic and I will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

The hotel was more than I expected in every way. The rooms were really comfortable and nicely finished in a contemporary way. Very classy and modern. The bathrooms were simple, clean and efficient. Even the hallways have a modern, retro vibe. Very fun. Then the museum was a total surprise. Not some simple local collection of art but real, world class stuff you see in museums around the world. Wow.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesignerNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing