We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a top hotel, quirky place with service not up to par”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
2 reviews
“Not a top hotel, quirky place with service not up to par”
Reviewed January 24, 2010

This hotel of distinction has a long way to go on improving it's housekeeping service & doorman service. Let's just say that if the only doors you can use are ones that have to be pushed open yourself, a doorman should be there to open them for you. On my stay they fell short, either not being there or out in the front of the hotel chatting it up with each other. Also, a hotel with the accolades this one has should be spot on with their housekeeping services. I had to contend with a shower head that would not maintain a position and dangled from the wall. The housekeeping staff missed my room during their turn-down service rounds and it was not resolved to my satisfaction after a call to the front desk and a subsequent visit by a nice gentleman who was clearly out of his element in turn=down service. Did not receive a call back from the housekeeping manager after being put into her voice mail by the front desk while I try to recover a piece of clothing I left in the room.

This is a quirky hotel has interesting features you won't find anywhere else. I think it's overhyped and that's too bad. A hotel's reputation is only as good as the satisfaction of it's last guest.

Don't get me wrong, it's a nice hotel overall and others on the staff were very attentive. But to maintain a level of success everyone has to be on their toes 24/7. I booked the room on Hotwire for $89 and I'm glad I did. In doing so I was able to stay in a nice room at a value price. It was worth $89 but if I paid rack rates at this hotel I would have certainly felt much less forgiving.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCriticKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    209
    50
    20
    12
See reviews for
159
502
55
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Coast, California
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2010

When I first learned learned about the 21C Museum Hotel I was intrigued by the concept, although it did cross my mind since I work in a contemporary art museum, how this would really feel --- like working late? I have to say this place is one of my favorite places to be!
The 21C is in a restored warehouse in historic downtown. The building's renovation is a perfect and comfortable balance between architectural preservation and contemporary design. The rooms are smartly decorated and appointed with only what you need, including a sense of humor, which actually starts outside, look up! The gallery spaces including the lobby present changing exhibitions, supporting newer artists as well as established ones.
The staff are friendly and professional. On my most recent stay, the front desk staff were extraordinarily gracious and proactive upon my very early morning arrival after a long flight. Wonderful hospitality.
The bar/lounge at Proof is a beautiful space in the daytime with the giant windows and natural light, and it is comfortable and fun at night. The menu showcases local ingredients and purveyors, and everything I have tried has been delicious, including the Bourbon!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peek10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

I really hate writing this review. If this were almost any other hotel, I would write a glowing, over the top review. However, this hotel was rated the best in the country. That's a standard that's hard to measure up to. Make no mistake, this is a world class hotel on par with more famous hotels. But here's the catch: it doesn't meet their standards. My comments are really just nits - but when you're rated the #1 hotel in the U.S., your customers notice when they arrive in the rain with two suitcases and the doorman isn't there to open the door, and the check in clerks are all huddled around one computer; when two gay men who are obviously together are continually asked "will this be two checks;" and finally when your room is cleaned, used glasses are left and coffee service items not replaced. Again, nothing here should dissuade you from visiting the hotel - however I wouldn't fly to Louisville just to stay here (to see Louisville, certainly, but not just to stay here)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

I must say that I think this place is a bit overrated. Yes, it is new, trendy, fairly clean and unique, BUT, it has the feel of a young, single, self-centered friends not quite "pulled together" apartment!! So many odd things that I can't even describe them all. We arrived very late and there was no one at the valet area at all. Once inside with all of our bags, we were eventually greeted by the gentleman behind the reception desk. Check- in was a bit aloof yet smooth and efficient. There was never an offer to assist with our luggage. My husband went to locate the "off-site" parking while I went to find our room with our two young children. It was now after midnight and I just wanted to get them into bed. We had to literally push our way through a group of intoxicated middle-aged guests "playing with" the elevator wall display art . Our multiple "excuse us" requests were completely ignored by the entire group. Once in the room, we were pleased with the high ceilings and spacious feel of the room. The bathroom was small but very clean and the soaps/shampoo were lovely. The linens were also very nice but by the time I got in the bed I was exhausted. I was really expecting to sleep soundly. The bed was so oddly soft and seemed to have a serious pull to the center that I spent the next 7 hours with a backache and the feeling that I was hanging on the edge and rolling downhill. I got almost NO sleep!! When we did get up it was my eleven year old son who was the first to say that that was the worst bed that he has EVER slept on!!!! I will have to agree with him and we travel a lot! Oh, well! It was a new day, so we headed down to the restaurant for breakfast. We saw several employees in the hallway and the only one who greeted us was from housekeeping. After my son literally ran into me after seeing the nude mural in the bar area, we were seated in a lovely window booth at Proof. I decided to keep an open mind of this unusual hotel while I waited for our server. He did eventually arrive then handed me the menu UPSIDE DOWN. Is is just me or are they not quite there yet?? Breakfast was delicious. While eating I remembered a tripadvisor reviewer's suggestion to visit the ladies room. After breakfast we headed out to the lobby. Both my husband and my son followed my daughter and me into the women's restroom after seeing the full frontal of Jackie-O in the lobby!! It is hard to stay in your lane of the hallway and avoid oncoming traffic after seeing that image. VERY ODD- is all of that really art???!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamamia107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evansville, indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Our daughter was home over the Holiday's and mentioned, 21c. She works in high
fashion/decor in Dallas, Texas and has an Art History Degree from DePauw University.
She mentioned, you and Dad should try this new hotel in Louisville. She stated, it was
rated in January 2010, as the top-scoring property in the United States, in what once
was a tobacco & bourbon warehouse....9,000 sq.ft. of exhibition space filled with
contemporary art. Original brickwork, arches and prismatic glass transoms. Rooms are
very artsy in a minimalist, high-end way....Herman Miller chairs and it wouldn't be
Kentucky without silver mint julep cups...would it?
At the spur of the moment New Year's Eve, we decided to book 21c. Upon arriving in downtown Louisville, I first noticed the immense construction going on in their downtown area along the river front. They are building a new arena and remodeling the downtown area, it looks fabulous! The hotel 21c exterior is remarkable and penguins are located on an upper ledge. Basically, while driving on 64 east/west, looking south, you can see the hotel and the very RED penguins between the buildings. There is also a relatively large, exquisite chandelier hanging outdoors on the street....mixing vintage with new....

Upon entering the hotel, we were mesmerized by the decor and plentiful art pieces
everywhere.... The lobby is exciting and vigorating to your senses....

We made dinner reservations while checking in and the dining was remarkable and decor. Our room was exceptional and spacious. I especially loved the brick wall behind the bed with weeping mortar, looked very old world with an added touch of the red
penguin pictures....ultra modern while mixing vintage at the same time..... This hotel is
not the same old look, that Marriott/W Hotels, etc....keeps on producing.....so boring!
You feel a sense of aura when entering and you know you've found your favorite
hotel in the entire United States and your night will be a memorable one you can remember for years! The hotel personnel were genuinely nice and wanted to
assist in every possible way, making sure all guests were greeted and welcomed.
I personally love the old world charm mixing old with new. 21c has a grandeur feeling when entering and stays with you, even after departing your old world adventure.... I would give 21c an A+ and when traveling in the future, I look forward to staying in their time pieces of the future!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetleeschultheis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etown Ky
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2010

From the moment I walked thru the door, til the time of check out, it was pure luxury. Everyone was so nice and helpful. The room was fantastic. The art work alone is enough to bring you to 21c. Proof on Main was so much fun. The staff at Proof really make you feel special. The food and drinks are served in such a friendly manner that I didn't want to leave. Friends from Lou. met me there and they too loved it. You have to stay there to really appreciate what they can offer. I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotrodEtownKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

I booked a room at 21C as a Christmas gift to myself, as I was curious about the rave reviews and the hype surrounding this "big-city" hotel in my own "small-city" hometown of Louisville.

From the moment I arrived and stepped into the lobby, I felt like I had entered a different world. The artwork was chic, provocative, modern, and intriguing. The staff were professional and pleasant. Quirky and fun surprises waited around every corner.

My room was no exception: Exposed brick walls and classic lines, a continued artistic theme, luxurious bedding, modern amenities, and pampering touches awaited me.

I had booked a massage at the spa; It was wonderful! The fitness center was small, but state-of-the-art. The sauna and steam room (coed, so plan on bringing a suit or a big towel!) left me feeling thoroughly relaxed.

I had planned on ordering room service from Proof, the four star restaurant in the hotel. I was tempted into going into the cozy little bar instead. I sipped a drink and perused the menu. The bartender was able to chat with me very knowledgeably about the menu. I chose to get grilled octopus as an app and Bucatini Carbonara as the entree. What can I say except that it was exquisite? The prices are reasonable for dining of this quality and the staff, again, were all very friendly.

All in all, the experience lived up to the reviews and the hype. I think everyone should stay at 21C at least once, even if they live in the area. The only small point that I could even mention as a negative is that the mini-bars in the rooms are electronically sensitive. I chose to root through the selections, which added an accidental $8 charge to my bill. It was promptly removed by the front desk when I mentioned it. Since then I have had hotel management contact me with a personal email to check on my experience and respond immediately to the very tiny complaint about the mini-bar.

A stay at 21C is not only a decision you won't regret, but will create a memory that you will treasure for a long time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeline74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
1,842 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#28 of 95 in Louisville
3,845 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
1,635 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 95 in Louisville
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing