We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Night to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were there for the blow out after derby party. We are soooo not cool enough for that scene, but were welcomed warmly. It was the kind of transcendent party you grieve the loss of in your thirties. The good, music, atmosphere were all perfect. It's the kind of party you hold in your bones to enliven you and remind you your youth isn't entirely gone.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the rooms because we didn't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stbrigid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi stbrigid,
Thank you for choosing 21c for your Kentucky Derby celebration. The Derby is such a special and unique time in Louisville, and we feel honored that you spent Derby night with us! We love that you had such a good time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    191
    48
    17
    11
See reviews for
150
466
54
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
258 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

A first class hotel experience worthy of a major metro. Not a cookie cutter luxury hotel, a true boutique experience with a thought-provoking in-house modern art museum that doesn't take itself too serious (for proof, see the giant golden David replica and sequined limo out front!).

Service and room quality is excellent, as is the lobby bar.

I would gladly stay here again.

Valet parking parks you in a lot that is just 1/2 a bock away and costs $7/day for self parking - faster and more economical to park yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi swelch,
Thank you for choosing 21c for your hotel accommodations in Louisville. I love that you mentioned "David" and the "21c Pip Mobile"--they are such amazing works and are just a couple of the many interesting things to experience here. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

21C in Louisville was the top rated US hotel by Conde Nast Traveler, and having stayed there this weekend- now I understand why. From the excellent attentive staff, to the luxe, sleek room, to the fabulous food and charcuterie at Proof, this hotel really impressed. We loved all the thoughtful & surprising touches- Spa quality robes, rubber ducky, ice bucket pre-filled with ice, top-end toiletries, to name a few- and we loved that this hotel has a sophisticated sense of whimsy too. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebinKy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi DebinKy14,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay at 21c. I will certainly let our team know about your compliments. I am happy to hear that you found our property to be sophisticated and fun! We would love to see you at our new properties in Cincinnati, Ohio and Bentonville, Arkansas, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faribault, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were just at the 21c in Louisville last week which was a unique and interesting place to be! The art changes out periodically but we found many interesting pieces. The best part of the hotel was proximity to such a great downtown area. We walked to Louisville Slugger and Muhammed Ali museums, down to the River Walk and to 4th Street Live! There were some fun breweries downtown as well as NuLu shopping district all within a mile or so. We had fabulous weather and did a lot of walking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0SIEnSAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hello JOSIEnSAM,
Thank you for leaving a review about your visit to 21c. I'm glad to hear that you took advantage of the beautiful weather and activities within walking distance of the hotel. We'll be changing our art exhibition soon, so be sure to come back to see what's new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

i've stayed at 21c four previous times and had a wonderful experience. this time i tried the new "sleeping in the cyclone" room. it was interesting although due to the dark quality of the room (no windows!) i would not stay there again. i thought i noticed a more laissez-faire attitude amongst the employees and (lack of) management presence this visit. on my last morning i woke up to NO WATER in the room. when i called the front desk to inquire, they said they had no idea what i was talking about and "a manager would call me right back". when no manager called i rang again and i was told to "go to the gym to shower". when i went there, there was no water their either. i ended up checking out a couple hours later with only cold water in my room (the hot never came on) and no response from management. a "front desk supervisor" finally called me THREE HOURS after I checked out to say "sorry, IF you come back, we'll make it up to you." not my idea of customer service.

Room Tip: i've stayed in an atrium suite, a corner suite (lots of windows), the "cyclone" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe I, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
William,

I'm incredibly sorry we failed to provide the service you expect and deserve. When notified of the issue, our management team should have taken action to resolve the situation as quickly as possible, maintaining continuous communication with you. My sincerest apologies. We truly appreciate your business and invaluable comments, utilizing them to retrain and ensure this incident is isolated. We would like to welcome you back; I'm confident we can recover with an exceptional experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was a First visit to Louisville. Our choice in this hotel was that it was modern with art and might be an interesting way to see this area as a good location. The valet $25 a day at door worth it as not good on street parking. The hotel was indeed Art in motion...we were not expecting the size of this location. It had interesting art throughout the entry and the lower gallery levels. Still not at all sure what the Red 'penguin'(s) had to do with the 21C, unless it was a mascot of sorts? No one ever said what the connection was. The best part was the elevator area with a backdrop moving screen where the guest were viewed with 'floating words' behind them to spell out interesting ways of imagination in prose...unique.
There was quality in the room bedding and bath. However, nothing spectacular. The turn down service was at odd times, sometimes really late after 8:00PM and other times early around the 6:00PM so never quite knew when to expect that? They left ice/and two unimpressive chocolates. It would have added a better feel if something from their restaurant was shared, and added to the warmth of hospitality...KY is known for their bourbon, why not do something more local in the offering to guest? We enjoyed the Proof on Main for our daily breakfast and found it to be well suited for a healthier lifestyle we maintain. The walking in this city was enjoyed and a lot of local restaurants; coffee shops, shops in the surrounding areas to explore. We found many beautiful areas such as the Saint James/Highlands to see the Victorian homes and even stopped in at a B&B called the Du Pont Mansion in the historic district. We were shown the charm of what Louisville was in a past era and given refreshment of homemade bourbon fudge to try by the proprietor personally. This was one of the highlights of our three nights in Louisville...if we return our choice would be to spend the money on what makes a city a home and choose something more personable... such as a B&B. The 21C was too cold and impersonal for a southern touch that makes a hotel a home away from home...

Room Tip: we had a top 4th floor side room which had NO view except a parking garage...so would check on if an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe I, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi JM,

I'm delighted you chose 21c Louisville for your first visit to the area and enjoyed the expansive collection of contemporary art in the museum. The Red Penguin sculptures were obtained for the property's opening in March 2006, originally commissioned for a public art project at the 2005 Venice Biennale. They organically became an icon of 21c as time passed. You may find additional information for the Red Penguin and other works on our website.

I'm very sorry we did not meet your expectations in all areas. It's our goal to provide authentic and personalized service with genuine Southern hospitality, much like a B&B. Your invaluable feedback has been helpful in determining where we dropped the ball. Thank you again.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and WOW you from start to finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

21c is a marriage of art gallery and luxury hotel, with the installations and art scattered around the hotel including some really fabulous pieces. The room rate is not really inexpensive, but frankly the room rates in Louisville are a little inflated and are all in the same price range of 21c. The rooms are exceptionally well appointed with good eye to detail (e.g., the toiletries are really quite good). While these are in many ways bourgeois adult digs, plenty of kids would be fascinated by the space and many of the works (and I suspect some might not be to the taste of ever reflective pre-teen). The self-parking was only $5 a night (as opposed to $25 for the valet); room service breakfast we had was frankly underwhelming and pricy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello paulmull,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the museum galleries as well as your guestroom and in-room amenities. We hope to see you again soon in Louisville or at one of our sister properties in Cincinnati or Bentonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing