We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern art exhibit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Excellent modern art exhibit”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but did enjoy the modern art exhibit which was great. Good collection over two levels with a number of interactive exhibits - the one by the elevator was very engaging and the smoke blowers outside were ingenious. I would highly recommend. It is free and it is open 24 hours a day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ottawajester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed visiting the 21c Museum. It sounds like you explored every nook and cranny and found works such as Text Rain and Cloud Rings--aren't they amazing? We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    217
    53
    20
    13
See reviews for
167
515
59
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Honestly I wasn't greatly impressed. The room was nice, but the food was hit or miss. The noise from the street was very annoying. For a 5 star place, it just seemed like any other hotel. The art was nice, but the giant statue of David blocked the view from our suite. I don't necessarily want to see a giant rear end when I open the curtain.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessecacox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe I, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Jessecacox, thank you for your comments; clearly, we missed the mark. We strive to deliver genuine Southern hospitality and culinary creativity, surrounded by world-class contemporary art. However, you left unimpressed and annoyed. We would love a second chance; should you choose to return, please contact us directly so we may find the perfect room for you. I already have one in mind. Thank you again for the invaluable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We did not stay here, however this is a beautiful hotel. My husband and I simply came for the art! The art is very interesting and simply beautiful. I loved the interactive art exhibit by the elevator, really cool! My said the men's restroom is very interesting! I'm not going to spoil it, but if you are a man,,you have to go to the men's room, pretty cool exhibit in there! This place was really cool, geared more towards adults, some of the art is mature in nature, yet tasteful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TonifromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for visiting the 21c Museum. I'm glad you brought up the "In the Absence of Voyeurism" installation pieces in the restrooms--they're definitely a surprise and must-see for our visitors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Unfortunately only spent one night here - but it was an enjoyable, quiet relaxing and art filled night! Great concept to incorporate an art museum into a hotel - funky, fun and interesting art pieces everywhere. My room was comfortable and quiet - not so much art in the room which surprised me but overall great stay - and the restaurant Proof is awesome!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi OzExpat,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at 21c in Louisville. It sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of our property from the hotel to the museum to the restaurant. We hope you can stay a little longer next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Although we did not stay at the 21c, we were urged to visit the art displays and we were not disappointed. The art is modern and edgy, and you might want to hesitate bringing younger kids. But from the hologram between the elevators, to the bathroom "eyes", to the provocative photography on display, this hotel matches many of the finest modern art museums, not in quantity, but in quality. Makes for a nice 20-30 minutes of culture.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JKTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your visit through 21c's museum galleries. Please come back soon to checkout our new exhibitions. We have docent tours every Wednesday and Friday at 5pm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way from Atlanta to Saugatuck, MI. What a wonderful surprise. A hotel with a modern art museum, a superb restaurant with creative farm to table entrees, quiet rooms and very warm, hospitable service. What more can you ask for?
Would like to come back and experience the bourbon trail.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Judy,
We are so glad you stumbled upon 21c. It sounds like you really enjoyed Proof on Main and your guestroom. We would love to welcome you back for a Bourbon Trail excursion! Our Front Desk Team would be happy to help offer recommendations and transportation options. Please let us know when your travels bring your back to Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went to Louisville for a weekend getaway, and stayed at the 21c. This hotel/museum is so unique, so beautiful, and so much fun that it would be worth the trip just for the 21c alone. Rooms, public spaces, bar, restaurant, museum, art --- all are top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi John,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to Louisville and 21c. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 96 in Louisville
1,886 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 96 in Louisville
3,896 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 96 in Louisville
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 96 in Louisville
1,670 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Louisville
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing