We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family stayed here on the 4th of July. The hotel was great and the service was excellent. The location made it easy to walk to whatever we wanted, like the Louisville Slugger factory and restaurants. We truly enjoyed the art spread throught the hotel and the architecural details such as exposed brick in the room. My children enjoyed finding the big red penguins as they seemed to move around the hotel. Be aware that some of the art in the museum portion especially has some nudity that you may or may not want to expose your children to. Also, we did not use their valet parking ($25) but parked in a garage just behind the hotel ($7) and carried our own luggage in. It would normally be out of our price range but we got a great last minute deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Angela,
Thank you for spending your 4th of July weekend with us. It sounds like you and your family were able to explore Museum Row, and had some fun with our red penguins! Thank you for visiting and for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    183
    44
    16
    11
See reviews for
137
451
50
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The basement and ground floor of this hotel is also a museum / art gallery, making it a very unique place to stay. The hotel has a lively atmosphere, with very friendly staff. Our room overlooked an inner courtyard but the decor in the courtyard still provided an interesting view, definitely better than the 'rooftops and ventilator shafts you sometimes get. The room we had was a good size and well equipped as well as being spotlessly clean. Great location near the river and in the centre of the city. Definitely a must for our next stay in Louisville.

Room Tip: The inward facing courtyard rooms still have an interesting view and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 52stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at 21c. I'm glad to hear that you found our property to be a fun place, and that you enjoyed your interior-facing room. The architectural features and decorative lighting in that space are so unique! Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

My family of 3 spent one night at the 21c in Louisville, KY this month. We loved that the hotel is pet friendly, and the art on the main 2 levels was very interesting (my son loved the cloud-makers).

We had a double atrium view room, 2 double beds with a view into the center of the building (skylights allowing in sunlight). It was a disappointment for us as a double bed is really not big enough for any couple to share, and the "atrium view" was really just a brick room with a concrete platform (no artwork inside, just lights in the center that were never turned off... almost like a billboard outside your window all night).

We ate roomservice for both dinner and breakfast, both provided by Proof, the restaurant downstairs. The food was tasty but a bit pricy (just like the room).

The location is great, we were able to walk around the area and even caught a sightseeing pony ride a few blocks over... although the city could do a lot more to clean up the area next to the water.

The staff at 21c were top notch, always friendly and welcoming.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but considering the price vs return I wouldn't recommend it for a family stay... better for couple on a weekend getaway to the city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ridiculous888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe I, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your 21c Louisville experience with us; your feedback is invaluable. I’m delighted you and your family enjoyed exploring our 9000 sq ft contemporary art museum; should you return and want to learn more, our friendly and welcoming staff conduct informative tours on Fridays and Saturdays at 5pm. I was very disappointed to read that your guestroom experience was underwhelming. It’s our goal to anticipate your needs and exceed expectations; clearly, we missed the mark. Ideally, we would’ve noticed your family of three and suggested a more suitable room for your stay. It sounds as though we also failed to close the blackout shades as part of our turndown service. I’m truly sorry. We would love an opportunity to welcome you back and knock your socks off. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in 21C 3 nights and it was an amazing experience. Wonderful innovative artwork everywhere including elevators and bathrooms, nicely decorated spacious rooms, I was very impressed with their attention to details - handwritten welcome note, cute little rubber duck in the bathroom, stuff is very attentive and sweet. Restaurant is definitely worth checking out as well - flawless cocktail menu and delicious food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Sonia,
Thank you for visiting 21c and for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I'm glad that you found our team to be detail oriented--we truly believe the little things make a big difference! We look forward to having you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

LIke a mini vacation. The staff both in the hotel and the restaurant, were delightful and very accommodating. We would return to Louisville just for this hotel. Follow East Market Street..for some cute shops and good food.

Room Tip: Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have any rooms with a view...but everything else is so wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeCee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at 21c. I'm glad you were able to explore the neighborhood and the NuLu area. We would love to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been wanting to visit Louisville since 21c opened. Came to town for the 4th holiday and to see the Eagles at the Yum Center. It is in a great location for exploring all parts of the city--Market street restaurants are near and the Highlands areas are just a short cab ride away. Proof dinner the first night was a delight and service on point. We also enjoyed a great dinner at Rye and Milk Wood--chef Lee could be on the the most creative chefs on the food scene anywhere in the US. Hotel room bath could use some deep cleaning--little bleach and scrubbing should do the trick. Service was prompt and friendly.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for choosing 21c Museum Hotel for your visit to Louisville over the holiday weekend. It sounds like you had an awesome weekend filled with a fantastic concert and amazing restaurants! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is 7 years and needs to be redone. The bathroom only had a shower with mildew on the tile at the base. There was only one small picture on the walls and the room felt bare especially since art is one of the selling points.The carpet is dark green and old. The furniture is beat up.The staff was excellent and helpful. I really liked their pleasant attitude. We ate breakfast in Proof on Main and it was nothing special.I read several magazines about how great the hotel is and I wanted to visit. I almost cried when we walked into the room. I was expecting much more.

Room Tip: I had no choice in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busymama_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabe I, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your invaluable feedback with us. I'm very sorry the condition of the room and breakfast at Proof on Main did not meet your expectations. While I'm glad you enjoyed our outstanding staff, it’s our goal to knock your socks off in every way; clearly we missed the mark. I'd love an opportunity to further discuss your stay to ensure we fully troubleshoot the issues you described. Please don't hesitate to contact me at your convenience. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,681 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing