We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night at the Museum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level Contributor
150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Night at the Museum”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and bright. (Love the brick wall.)

We liked the malin + goetz toiletries---and ordered more from the company when we got home.

My father commented that the salmon in Proof was the best that he'd ever had.

Our day began at 4:55 AM when a garbage truck picked up a dumpster outside. The truck made an extremely loud banging noise that went on for far too long. There was no going back to sleep after that.

I understand the hotel cannot control what goes on outside, but something should be done. I see that another reviewer experienced the same kind of disturbance.

It would be so much nicer if the garbage trucks would pick up the trash at empty office buildings that early in the morning and delay pickups at hotels where people are sleeping.

Room No. 331
Room Rate: $275.00
Sales Tax: $17.90
Occupancy Tax: $20.63
Local Tax: $2.75
Valet Parking: $25/day

TIP: Ask for a room far away from the garbage dumpster.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabeIsaac, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Sincere thanks to you and your family for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the guestroom design and bathroom amenity selection in addition to the salmon at Proof- it's my favorite. However, I'm terribly sorry that your otherwise positive experience was marred by exterior noise. We're currently working with our neighbors and public works department to reschedule potentially disruptive pickups. Thank you again for your invaluable feedback; we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    199
    49
    18
    11
See reviews for
151
480
54
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NewJersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I chose this hotel based on the TripAdvisor rating. I was pretty disappointed. The lobby is small with most space dedicated to modern art gallery. The room, especially the bathroom was quite dank. I was woken up by the extremely loud noises coming from the street that were easily heard in the third floor room (ambulance, garbage trucks etc). I was expecting some interesting architectural details in the room based on the reputation but there were none. Overall it is extremely overpriced for what you get.

I ordered room service a few times and the service was quick, but the food was not good. Once it had a hair in it, which they comped.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoteloisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabeIsaac, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience- your feedback is invaluable to improving the level of comfort and service we provide to our guests. I'm very sorry that your sleep was disturbed and room service was anything less than delectable; it's our goal to provide you with a comfortable stay and delicious food. I'd love the opportunity to discuss the issues in detail so that we may prevent reoccurrence in the future. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
236 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We selected this hotel on the recommendation of friends who had stayed there for business. Our weekend mission was to tour the bourbon distilleries in the area. From check-in to check-out, this was a terrific hoteling experience. Considering the potential for pretense in this upscale, super-modern hotel/museum, the service was surprisingly warm, smiley and staffed with top-notch professionals. We reserved the least expensive room - looking out into a brick walled courtyard (only the facade of the former warehouse structure remains, which the hotel has lined artistically in neon). It was great! I usually don't notice linen quality (unless it's uncomfortably cheap) but I noticed these sheets - a thick, crisp cottony cocoon enveloped me into a deep sleep on both nights of our visit. The art museum on the lobby and ground floors of the hotel was a very cool perk. It's open 24 hours to guests and the public - I was curious about getting up in the middle of the night to see if anyone was in the museum (and just for the thrill of a 3am museum visit) but I never made it down. The restaurant is very good (Proof on Main) - creative, chef-level cuisine without the fuss. Totally casual and decorated with art from the museum.

Now when I say "art", it is all modern art. Interesting photography, techno-art, whimsical sculptures and fantasy sketches were some of the pieces on display. I really enjoyed it's playfulness and thought-provoking quality. There is one gallery upstairs, five small galleries downstairs and art placed throughout the hotel. The fourth floor lobby has a chandelier of crystals and hanging manicure scissors, for example. I loved that but my boyfriend thought it was creepy. But he loved the "raining text" piece (that is interactive and near the elevator lobby on the first floor) and the floor drip piece nearby.

This hotel can get pricey but it's worth it to keep an eye out (or ask) for lower rate periods and check this place out. I will return!

Room Tip: Even the cheap rooms have a cool view of the neon courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It was kind of you to take the time to write such a nice review about your stay at 21c. I am particularly glad that you mentioned the view from your room and our "Text Rain" installation. These two features of our property highlight important parts of the 21c experience! The historical aspects of our architecture paired with the contemporary art create a unique yet comfortable experience for our guests. I'm happy that you enjoyed everything and we'd love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Well, what can I say, just absolutely fabulous, the service, the rooms, Proof on Main, and of course the art. Went on an art walk with my friends around midnight and was really amazed at the modern art. Just a great experience.

I was in town with 8 of my friends for a memorial, and we all stayed at the 21c. It really had all of the comforts and just added enough chic to make the Louisville stay really worthwhile. And of course, the 21c Museum's contribution to reviving downtown must be huge.

While we visited the historical hotels in Louisville for drinks, we were all really glad we stayed at the 21c Museum.

The hotel has a limo which is of course, was completely trick out. See the photo below. And the Proof on Main was really delicious with bison, bone marrow, squid and salmon to name a few things on the menu. Great job and can't wait to go to the other locations.

My only complaint is the elevator seemed slow, but of course I got over it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolkSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of 21c Museum Hotel. 21c is the perfect place to gather with colleagues or friends due to our small size and location in the heart of downtown Louisville. I love your photograph with the 21c Pip Mobile--It looks like you had a great visit with us! We would love to have you visit our new properties in Cincinnati and Bentonville soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you enjoy art and the vibe of a contemporary art museum, you will really enjoy 21C. I had never heard of this hotel brand before this trip, but I found it online and am extremely impressed. The room was very clean, contemporary, and comfortable. There is also a great bar with a relatively young crowd. Very, Very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff34895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time write a review about your visit to 21c and Proof on Main. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations and our lounge. We love welcoming new guests who have just discovered 21c! Be sure to visit our newly opened properties in Cincinnati, OH and Bentonville, AR--we'd love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Friends and I visited 21c late (around 9pm) on a Saturday evening. We were pleased to find that there is no entrance fee and that we could take our drinks from the hotel bar (Proof on Main) throughout the museum. The museum was not crowded and the modern art was exceptional. I understand from the front desk worker that the art installations change quite often - I am excited to visit again in the future to see new exhibits.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WindyCityTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for visiting 21c and Proof on Main! Our museum is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with free admission. We are in the process of installing a new art exhibition this week, so be sure to come by again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights over a week end and I can only say that if you have the opportunity to use this hotel, you will not be disappointed. From the moment we pulled up to the door until check out we were treated like royalty by the staff. Courtesy and helpfullness were displayed by each and every person we met......special mention to Manny.....thanks for the penquin! I would also recommend the restaurant located within the hotel. And don't forget to take the time to view all of the marvelous art on display.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at 21c! I am glad to hear that you felt welcomed and pampered by our Team. It is people like Manny who truly deliver the 21c experience, and I will certainly inform him about your kind words. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,777 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#12 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing