We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you are looking for a memorable, romantic, exciting, and great service hotel, well this is it !! I will promise you will have a wonderful time. Service is great, staff is friendly, food is awsome, ambiance is NYC chic !! You can do business, play, get cozy, get frisky, and love evry minute of it !!!

Room Tip: Ask for the street view, you will enjoy the Ohio river !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSAN3057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about 21c! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at 21c for 1 night before going on the Bourbon Trail. I chose it primarily because we planned to eat at Proof that night, and the hotel itself used to be whiskey & tobacco warehouses (also - there's a list of accolades on this place longer than my arm). The location is great - easy access to the interstate, right across from the Science Center and next to the Louisville Slugger museum. It is also surrounded by parking decks, so we only paid $6 for parking which was a nice bonus.

The galleries are open to the public and free, but art is everywhere, even in the rooms. Staying there was unlike any other hotel - and more like staying in a loft owned by the coolest person you know. Tea selection was incredible (normally just a token), the toiletries were amazing, and there's even a rubber duck in the shower. The rooms are beautiful and it was SUPER quiet. And we actually got turndown service with chocolate.

We stayed there as a couple but younger kids would also get a kick out of the style - the art is accessible and colorful, and some of it is in surprising places (ceiling of the elevator). Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at 21c. I hope you had a great time on the Bourbon Trail! 21c and Proof on Main are perfect as a "homebase" for a visit to bourbon country. Our Team at Proof is very knowledgable about bourbon, and we are a stop on the Urban Bourbon Trail. Our Front Desk Team loves coordinating trips to the distilleries too. I'm also glad to hear you were able to explore our galleries as well the museums nearby. Thank you for sharing your experience--We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Full disclosure:

I am actually from Louisville, KY where this hotel is located but my intention was to be very impartial. My husband and I decided to stay here for Valentines Day night. We booked a corner suite. We arrived about 3:00pm and valet parked the car. The valet men were very helpful and opened the car doors and hotel doors for us and walked us to the lobby counter. It is a very unusual/unique hotel. The entire hotel is an art gallery/museum .... so everywhere you turn there is a really cool art installation of some sort .... from the lobby to the elevators to the bar.

The woman at the check in was extremely sweet. All smiles and very welcoming. We arrived in our room and was VERY pleasantly surprised. There were floor to ceiling windows all around the room with a big dining area and sitting area. In front of the sitting area was the king size bed. Nicely appointed room. Loved the furniture choice. Very eclectic which I guess suits the style of the hotel very well.

We ordered some 'bar type snacks' and a few glasses of wine from room service. (a cheese tray and some deep fried chick peas with sea salt ... VERY good!).

We ate at a restaurant down the street and then sat at the hotel bar for some after dinner drinks and it was hopping! Wonderful atmosphere.

We were a bit anxious about being right on a busy main street of downtown Louisville and wondered if we were going to get any sleep that night .... but we had a wonderful slumber! Comfortable bed ... plenty of pillows.

This hotel really lives up to all the hype. I would not hesitate to recommend any of my town guests to stay at this hotel. Just a wonderful and very unique experience!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing 21c for your Valentine's Day celebration! I'm glad that you enjoyed the Corner Suite--it definitely is one of our most unique rooms with its studio-style layout and windows overlooking both Main and Seventh Streets. Your review also has brought up the point that 21c provides a unique and exciting experience for all visitors ranging from international guests to our own Louisvillians! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Room and staff were fantastic! A lot of interesting art to look at and the bar/restaurant that is next door has great food. Great central location to the downtown area and museums. Great atrium view from the room as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DG_EL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at 21c. Our art exhibition will be changing in the coming months, and Proof on Main always has new menu items to offer! Please visit again soon to see what's new!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is pricey, but worth it. You can try Hotwire for better pricing. I did and have been successful.

You will enjoy the stay. Large, upscale rooms, a wonderful lobby with all kinds of art that changes on a regular basis.

The food is very good and I cannot say enough about the staff. They are very helpful and accommodating.

Very nice amenities in the room. Highly recommend.

Walking distance to other restaurants and a nice museum across the street too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamaicajoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to 21c! It sounds like you took full advantage of our location in the heart of Museum Row, and were able to checkout the fantastic museums and restaurants Louisville has to offer. I will share your kind words with our Team--the 21c experience certainly would not be the same without our helpful and attentive team members. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The contemporary art makes 21c a totally unique experience. The art is indeed fascinating, and I say that as someone who is not especially big on contemporary art. The adjoining restaurant, Proof on Main, is excellent as well. I thought our room was good but not great, in part because of its interior location which didn't allow much natural light to enter the room. Next time I would request an outside room.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpro513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at 21c. I'm happy to hear that you found the museum to be interesting and unique! We would love to have you again soon, and our team would be happy to help you choose the perfect room type. I think you would enjoy one of our Luxury rooms or even a Balcony King, both of which are exterior facing room types with plenty of natural light. Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

What a cool place to stay. I was in Louisville on business, with a few days after for pleasure and had been recommended to stay at 21C. I have never been so pleased with a recommendation. The hotel itself is a piece of art, not to mention the impressive collection on display throughout the space. The staff were wonderfully courteous and professional and the accommodations were exemplary as well. Very clean and comfortable. You MUST try Proof on Main, the restaurant for the hotel. In my opinion, one of the best in Louisville. 21C made a great point of departure for each day of our stay and was a warm and inviting place to bring our friends back to after a long day of work. Highly Recommend.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRockTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Sales Coordinator at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at 21c. It is always nice to hear when business travelers are able to relax after their busy days and enjoy our museum and restaurant. We truly are a "museum-hotel," and I am glad that you took advantage of the full experience! I certainly will inform our team about your compliments, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 99 in Louisville
2,026 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 99 in Louisville
1,789 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 99 in Louisville
4,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 99 in Louisville
1,490 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $208 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing