We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 words: Awe. Some.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2 words: Awe. Some.”
Reviewed April 4, 2008

This hotel is fantastic. Hip, fun, clean, friendly, AND in a great location. Turn-down service, flat screen TV, huge comfy bed... even the toiletries were extra nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Judybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    209
    50
    20
    12
See reviews for
159
502
55
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

I love 21C. Every time I go to Louisville I stay there. The service is unparalled. They remember your name when you come and go and they hello and goodbye. (It makes you realize how many other hotels don't do this). The only thing I would change are the beds. The sheets are wonderful but the mattresses aren't soft--they are kinda hard like a Holiday Inn bed. If they would upgrade the mattresses I would give it 5 stars.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank havanahipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Uniqueness in an unexpected place. I booked this hotel after searching for a place to spend a long weekend, the reviews from Tripadvisor set this place on a pedestal and it deserved it.

First the bad:

-Parking is not $3 in the garage if you get your car out while there is an attendant, it is $6 so try to time your exits while the attendant is off duty. Or if you can simply use the machine in front of the teller even if he is there you maybe able to still swing the $3. Valet parking should not be used as there appeared to be only 1 valet and at check in time he got swamped
-Very limited bell service. Now for me this is not a negative but kind of a neutral point but for the price point this hotel is aiming for it should be expected
-The doors slamming is an issue, if you are a light sleeper then this could be very serious. The first night was light on the traffic so I thought that people were making it up but the second night was sold out and the doors were slamming every other minute.
-The bar does not open until 5 or so on Saturday, or at least this was according to a peeved gentleman in the elevator who was not amused by the arty surroundings
-The layout of the ventilation means that the duct work blows directly over and across your head in bead. I woke up every morning with dry mouth and eyes.

The good:
-Reception and concierge service was great and they went above and beyond. I let the front desk know upon our arrival that we were going to see a play 2 nights later and they set up for us to return to rose petal covered sheets.
-House keeping and the turn down service are extremely great at making sure that you are not disturbed, they made sure that when they saw us leaving that they did not miss their opportunity to complete their job with out disturbing our time table
-The rooms are very nice, minimal but well appointed.

The great:
-The location could not be better for a weekend with out a car. You can walk to everything except Bardstown Rd which is about an $11 cab ride including tip.
-The art is crazy but if you can get past the oddity it is quite an adventure to see and play with all the art
-Finally the penguins are the greatest thing ever, I would pay alot to have one of those playful little guys in my house.

Over all this place is a must stay if you want to say you have experienced it all.

  • Liked — The location and uniqueness
  • Disliked — The walls are thin
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank naturboy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

21C Museum Hotel was a surprise for me. I hadn't been to Louisville before, and I had the impression of a more "classic southern city." 21C breaks that stereotype - sure it's in an old building with classic street appeal. But once you step inside it reveals its funky side. It really is a museum, displaying modern art throughout the lobby and on each floor.

The staff is great. Quite friendly, really helpful. That experience starts before you check in, when you get a call asking what type of music you prefer in your room (the music is loaded on an iPod for play as part of turndown service).

My room was huge and comfortable. A great workspace, sitting area, comfy bed, flat panel TV. They have free wireless, but I found it slow and it periodically dropped. This was the only downside.

The bar and restaurant are both destinations for locals who are downtown at night, so they remain pretty lively.

This will be the place I stay when I come back.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Spamstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Stayed at this hotel twice within a month period. It offers your standard boutique hotel amenities - plasma TV, high ceiling, minimalism furnishing etc. The staffs are quite friendly and helpful. The hotal is conveniently located two minutes walk from the Slugger museum and some of Louisville's favorite tourist spots.

What makes it stand out though is the "museum" aspect of it.
It's very unique in its own right, from the moment you step into the lobby and checked your bag into the room, you will find all sorts of fun little surprises (e.g. red pengiuns). Male visitors should check out the men's room located on the 1st floor, it will make you smile.

Do also try the restaurant (Proof on the Main), like the hotel, it will delight you --- unexpectedly.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cafmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, WV
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

This is an incredible alternative to a 'corporate' chain hotel. The art is amazing, and the modern, design forward spaces are a welcome change from standard hotel rooms. The beds are sooo comfy, and everything is very clean. Turn down service includes blacking out all daylight from the room so you sleep as long as you like. My only complaint is that the bathtubs are pretty plain... a jet tub would have been wonderful! Even so... you can not go wrong with this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lunarbug78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

From the moment we checked in the staff was welcoming, attentive, and there to service everyone. And this continued through the entire visit. The hotel is combined with an interactive art museum, so you will be entertained everywhere throughout the building - elevator, hotel room, museum, restaurant. Don't be surprised to find a red penguin in your bed or shower. The feeling is urban modern chic with an artsy edge. Amenities were high end and everything was pristine clean.

Proof on Main is the hotel restaurant which Kentuckians flock to. They feature a local and seasonal menu which is excellent. On my last visit, I enjoyed a capresse salad with smoked grapes for a starter, seared scallops with carmelized spaghetti squash in a picatta sauce for my entree, and fininished with a cheese sampler plate. The entire meal was divine, which I do not hand out lightly.

Every aspect of the hotel exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend the hotel and restaurant to anyone visiting Louisville.

  • Liked — interactive art
  • Disliked — can't think of anything...
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PepeSpaGoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
1,842 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#28 of 95 in Louisville
3,845 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
1,636 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 95 in Louisville
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing