We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in the World”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best in the World”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Fabulous experience! Everyone was warm and welcoming. I made a mistake and thought I booked a room with an Atrium view but the 21C customer service quickly adjusted and put me in an Atrium room without any additional charge. The room was comfortable, charming, & clean and had a wonderful vibe. The bathrooms are cozy. Service was incredible, everyone was attentive and tried to anticipate your every desire and make it possible. The restaurant is awesome. What really makes this place though is the museum and the warm staff. They pay amazing attention to detail and everyone at the the 21C aims to please.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jyd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    217
    53
    20
    13
See reviews for
167
515
59
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Tried this hotel after seeing reviews and rankings. Compared to the chain hotels in downtown Louisville this is in a class by itself. This is a small, intimate hotel where we were treated personally with a smile. We did not partake in the amenities such as the spa, but took a quick trip through the museum and had a drink at the bar. Nothing to complain about. The rooms were nice, though nothing unique other than the exposed brick. Conde nast has this rated as a top 10 hotel in the world. I am not sure about that, but the combination of price, quality, and the uniqueness of the museum certainly make this a great place to stay in Louisville.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbkmrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed one night, celebrating a birthday and going to a performance. There was nothing negative about this wonderful hotel. The staff in the hotel, the bar, and the restaurant, was very informative and attentive. The room was very clean and comfortable The bed/ linens/ amenities were excellent! We had drinks in the bar, which were a little over priced, but good. Dinner in the restaurant, The Proof, was delicious. My steak was over-cooked, so can't given it an excellent rating. Overall, extremely pleased and will come back to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indymacthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Wonderful hotel, great service, nice amenities. Who cares if there is no hot tub? Try something different! Looks like a great place for a party or reception. A wedding was going on during our stay and it was a nice buzz but didn't take over every guests experience like I've seen at other hotels. The restaurant inside the hotel has great food too... the type of place you would go to even if you weren't staying there. I'll be back... hopefully sooner than later. <3 Louisville

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeingL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I just spent a weekend at the 21C Museum Hotel for a wedding. I cannot find anything negative to say about this place, but the positives are endless. The concept is somewhat daring for a market like Louisville, but somehow they pull off a fairly prominent mix of provocative art on display by being playful with it. The movable red penguins and the two way mirror in the waterfall inspired urinal in the men's room are just two examples that come to mind.

The food and cocktails at the hotel's restaurant, Proof, are beyond compare and matched the interesting crowd that always keeps the place buzzing.

While we were there we spotted Anthony Bourdain at breakfast and learned Van Halen was in the hotel as well. Yet despite the celebrities and the Conde Naste awards, the place simply does not take itself seriously, which only adds to the atmosphere.

As a proof of concept, if 21C can make it Louisville, this place is guaranteed to be a hit in some many locations.

I would love to go back. The only downside is the price. We had a wedding rate of $159, which was worth the money, but with a standard rate over $330, it might be too pricey for many. Then again the place was packed while I was there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed one night & had a great time. Staff was friendly & helpful. The room was clean & comfortable. Linens were great & amenties were wonderful. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Recently stayed for romantic getaway. Absolutely stunning hotel (or museum with beds). Wish we would have had a little more time to look at everything. Rooms were exceptional, service was more than friendly. Restaurant was "different". Central location made it easily walkable to many areas - KFC Yum Center, 4th Street Live, Science Museum (across street),
Louisville Slugger Museum. Would return without hesitation

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 96 in Louisville
1,884 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 96 in Louisville
3,895 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 96 in Louisville
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 96 in Louisville
1,670 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Louisville
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing