We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great museum, even if you're not a boxing enthusiast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muhammad Ali Center

Muhammad Ali Center
Ranked #9 of 168 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of historic downtown Louisville, Kentucky, the Muhammad Ali Center is a cultural attraction and international education center inspired by the ideals of hometown hero Muhammad Ali. The Ali Center features 2 levels of award-winning exhibits, a five-screen orientation theater film, historic Civil Rights era media footage, video of Ali fights, interactive boxing fun, two art galleries, children's Hope and Dream wall, meeting and event space, retail store and more.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great museum, even if you're not a boxing enthusiast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I had a heard good things about the museum prior to visiting Louisville and wasn't disappointed.

The museum is well laid out and provides a historical perspective of Muhammad Ali's life, political activism, and boxing career. There are some interactive exhibits where you can try your hand at boxing, while other sections delve into his conversation and spiritual journey to Islam and his involvement in civil rights and as a social justice advocate.

Towards the end of the self-guided tour, you can view nearly every recorded bout Ali has been involved in from start to finish, which is pretty cool.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KChanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    192
    48
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great attraction in Louisville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

One of the best historic centers for one of the best boxers of all-time. Its great into learning about Muhammad Ali as a boxer and a person. Tremendous center, definitely a recommendation.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We were pretty much the only people visiting the Muhammad Ali Center on a recent Friday morning (while the Louisville Slugger Factory was packed). Still, we enjoyed the informative, interactive exhibits and uplifting, inspiring message. Great for the whole family.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank almabalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The center was amazing!! The center focused on more than his life as a boxer. They focused on his humanitarian efforts and his philanthropy. Ali is a true American Icon. The gift shop has really great items. I look forward to bringing family and friends to the center.

Helpful?
Thank msbianca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“More than boxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The last thing we expected at a museum dedicated to Muhammad Ali was the orientation film built around the Rudyard Kipling poem "If" (If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster, and treat those two impostors just the same...)

While the museum covers Ali's boxing story, in my view the focus was more about personal empowerment and Ali's struggles with the racism in the 1960s.

My family and I left the museum feeling inspired, and hope you do as well. Enjoy!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Muhammad Ali Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing