We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Automatic Tip”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #94 of 1,757 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cajun & Creole, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Branenburg, KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Automatic Tip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The service was very good, and I understand an automatic tip when it comes to large parties. However, we had 6 adults with the other 2 in the party children of age 4 and 1. It is a sad affair when the child of 1, who did not order, constitutes the party of 8 for an automatic tip of 18% to be added to your bill. The food was your standard fare. It was good but not sure it was worth the cost. The drinks were a bit overpriced. If it had not been for our son who wanted to go there for his birthday celebration, not sure I would go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 88Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    93
    50
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Amazing experience of river front”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is very special place for me and my wife and yes, we love the food and specially corn there. A fishbowl of drinks and appetizers are our favorite things there...Nice people and staff makes our evening more beautifu.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenny567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visiting friends and doing the waterfront. Joe's is good food but for the money you can get comparable or better. We sat on the deck overlooking the river and watched the "Belle" paddle by. Overall service was good, although a bit slow but we were out for the afternoon. Wouldn't recommend this if you are in a hurry. One of those places you check out just to see what it's all about.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike7924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Should have read the reviews :(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Was in Louisville for a day celebrating a birthday by zip lining at the Mega Cavern. The birthday girl wanted seafood for dinner so we headed to the river to eat at Joe's. Everything about our dinner experience was awful. Sssolooooowwww service and mediocre food. Do not recommend period.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

One word. Overrated. I have given them so many chances to get it right. The only reason I went is because of a friend who didn't know any better wanted some seafood. Rubbery crab in a bucket. Tiny portions, dirty tables, floors and glasses, watered- down drinks, and lousy service. It's always annoying to have to hunt down a server to get a drink refill or even the basics, like silverware. I give up. Kroger's for my crab from now on.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joninky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing