We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal Had by All”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jack Fry's

Jack Fry's
Ranked #3 of 1,757 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $65
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Highlands
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal Had by All”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Every menu item the 4 of us had was excellent. Intersting old place, noise could be a problem at times.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldenGapYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    123
    47
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exquisite local cuisine in Louisville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Jack Fry's is a must-see restaurant to visit in Louisville. The service is always charming and friendly. The food is superb. They have the best lamb chop, hands down, anywhere in North America. If you find yourself in Louisville, make sure you stop by Jack Fry's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you are looking for ambiance, this is not the place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I were treated to dinner with friends at Jack Fry's this past weekend. They had heard it was a popular place and were eager to experience it. For starters, we had an appetizer serving of roasted quail with garlic bread pudding, fois gras, with a currant sauce that was okay. I ordered the warm brie salad which was nothing special--certainly not worth $7.00. We waited for what seemed like an eternity for the entree--beef filets and walleye. If these entrees take longer to prepare, it would have been helpful for the server to tell us. The beef was served with a potato patty, asparagus, and asiago sauce--all of which were excellent, but were served on plates that were too large for the size of the table. The reason I would never return to this place is how loud and crowded it is. We sat at a booth, and due to the incomprehensibly long wait for the entree, it soon became cramped and uncomfortable. I also noticed how crowded adults looked as they were seated at their small tables. The noise in the place made conversation impossible. There were so many loud people in the place that I wondered of they exceeded the fire safety code. If you are looking for reasonably good food that takes way too long to serve while surrounded by a crowd of loud people, check out this place. If not, try elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great place on Bardstown Road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We came as a large group and took 2 tables next to each other. Appetizers were served to share:

Shrimp & Grits (nice, $12)
Agnolotti (ok, $12)
Spicy Fried Oysters ($12), Scallops ($16) - both excellent

The Warm Brie Salad ($7) came as described (bibb lettuce, toasted almonds) but did not have have much structure or taste to it. Would have been nicer with a different type of lettuce and walnuts rather than almonds.

I had a fish from the daily special's menue that came as a nice summer dish on a bed of lettuce but had a bit too much acid to it. Some of my colleagues had the Porthouse Steak from the specials and enjoyed it but claimed it was no porterhouse.

Live music (daily except Sundays) is great (but the noise level makes conversation on larger tables difficult).

All in all a great place on Bardstown Road!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1001-traumreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasty Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had the Porterhouse Steak and it was very tasty with all the extra stuff on it. I also recommend the escargot quit e good. Also try the bourbon beer.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SoilDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Fry's also viewed

 

Been to Jack Fry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing