We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Romantic and Fun Dining Experience!!”
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #310 of 1,781 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $7 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Melting Pot Restaurant is locally owned and operated. Our guests support us locally and nationally. YOU choose how you would like to enjoy us! Date night, family night, girls night, cheese and chocolate fondue day, it's totally up to you how you would like to experience The Melting Pot of Louisville KY! We support lots of local flavors and buisnesses from our bourbon and bacon cheddar cheese fondue, to our selection of local wineries and breweries. We have our favs, just ask us! We are very kid friendly, they are some of our biggest fans! Celebrations are certainly one of our specialty's, but we are also very cravable. The owners favorite cheese is top shelf fiesta, and chocolate fondue is so heavenly she can't choose a fav. Our team members all have their own creations, so next time your in, ask them about making stuffed mushrooms, which sauce is best with which protein, and don't forget to take home a bottle of our garlic and wine seasoning! It goes with everything! Really! Just ask us, we all have a bottle at home. Come on in! We all look forward to serving you! (Become a club fondue member by visiting our website for special events and promotions just for our loyal Fondue fanatics!)
Burkesville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“VERY Romantic and Fun Dining Experience!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Took my wife here for Valentine's Day and had a VERY Romantic (and Fun) dining experience. I had 3 Roses sitting on the table when we arrived, they brought us a box of Choclate Covered Strawberries, and they took our picture together (and framed it). And that was all on top of the remarkable fondue dining experience!

I highly recommend the Melting Pot for a special occasion since I will admit that it is expensive, BUT something you will thoroughly enjoy and remember fondly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CruiseTraveler1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Money!!!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

After the confusing menu of how to order and what to order. I was really surprised when we got the check for 6 adults and 2 children with tip was $460.00. Not worth it!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank troyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deliscious new experience!”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

If you are looking for something new and out of the ordinary, then this restaurant is for you! The food was delicious and u have so many options. Make sure u block out atleast two hours of your time because this is a lengthy experience! I would recommend it to anyone. For me and my boyfriend it was $78 for the four course meal, which seems pricey but the food is well worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyFromTheKnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and staff”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We had a wonderful New Years Eve dinner at the melting pot. We were greeted by the Manager who is very nice and funny! We were seated at a table in the bar area and our server(wish I could remember his name) was excellent. (he is also a bartender.) The food was delicious.
We look forward to our next visit. The earlier review mentions the Makers Mark Fondue, and it is delicious.
We have visited the location in Lexington and it just does not stand up to the Louisville location. Louisville Mgr. And staff make the difference.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank we3kingsKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Our "Go To" spot for a splendid evening!”
Reviewed June 5, 2008

Disclaimer: I'm a Louisville local, and a huge fan of The Melting Pot. To date I have been to at least 5 different Melting Pot locations.

Block out three hours of your night, with either your loved one or a group of four and you'll have a fantastic evening. Go for "The Big Night Out" as we do at least every other month, and you'll never go away hungry.

So.....YES...you do have to cook your own food for the main course. Enjoy it, take your time, and you'll have a great time.

Cheese: Try the Maker's Mark Bacon Cheddar. It's not on the menu, but they'll gladly make it for you...it's their specialty.

Salads: They are all good, but don't stuff yourself with greens.

Main course: Coq Au Vin cooking style...always!!! Filet, chicken, shrimp, pork, ravioli are all great. We don't usually splurge for the lobster, as it tends to get tough very quickly. (note: the recommended cook times by your server are usually quite liberal. (for example, if you put shrimp in there for more than a minute, it's not going to be edible.)

Dessert: They are all great. Save room for cheesecake covered with whatever chocolate you choose.

Also, for those that don't want to spend as much money (or with smaller appetites) we frequently just go for cheese, wine, and then chocolate.

Helpful?
1 Thank RandyLouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing