We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and well worth your stay!”
Review of Dupont Mansion B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dupont Mansion B&B
Ranked #2 of 20 Louisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location and well worth your stay!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed there for an evening when we came to town for a concert. The staff was awesome, warm and friendly. The rooms and entire building was elegant and amazing and the food for breakfast the next morning topped off a great experience. Thanks for a great time!! We highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorcs1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    28
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
232
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed on 3/7/14 to 3/8/14. Genny is great, the comforts of home away from home! Rooms were comfy! Food was great, Service was superior!!! I recommend staying here and will stay again when in Louisville!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Dupont Mansion on 2-22-14 for a night staying in the Dupont Suite. We unfortunately were over an hour late due to a bridge accident (not us) but Genny was very gracious with our late arrival. She gave us a full tour of all open rooms and oriented us to the schedule for breakfast. We had dinner plans so we didn't get a lot of time to relax and meet other guest but this was unavoidable due to the traffic issue. After dinner, we got to settle in to the B&B and were able to tour the facility better. It is a beautiful, well thought out B&B with many rooms that seem inviting. It seemed a little warmer temperature on the third floor but this may have been weather related. Our room was on the second floor and we had no other guess on this level. Quiet and very relaxing. Our room's large tube whirlpool was nice and the fake fireplaces were soothing. Minor complaint is the bed was very tall and was challenging for my short wife to get into. Not easy for anyone who is very petite or physically challenged so keep that in mind. Bed and floors are a bit squeaky but not a big issue. Breakfast was delicious and Genny accommodated me since I don't eat eggs. Her punch was great! Had a wonderful conversation about the B&B with Genny and agree that sun could be an issue on the east seats ;-) Genny suggested we explore the area and arranged a visit to the Inn at the Park for us. All and all a very nice visit and great hosting by Genny.

Room Tip: Beds in Dupont Suite are very tall so be careful if you are short.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkHearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We've stayed at B&B's around the world, from Alaska to Australia, PEI to Hawaii; all unique, most enjoyable, and some an adventure. DuPont Mansion tops the list for romantic destinations. Extra bonus for us: we had the inn nearly to ourselves. Genny is the epitome of an innkeeper: warm, gracious, charming. And her food was outstanding -- just as described by other reviewers. Furnishings are elegant yet comfortable. We even entertained friends with bourbon in the parlor, imagining ourselves living there in a different era. If we are in Louisville again, there will be no question of our accommodation choice. Genny, we will be back for more of your banana pecan pancakes!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here for Thanksgiving 2013 and again last week (Jan. 2014), and both times felt so well taken care of. The innkeeper, Genny, is just a delight, the entire house is gorgeous and everything we've eaten was scrumptious. Would be a great location for just about any purpose (business, couples, solo, with kids, without, etc.).

One of the things I really love about the house and ambience is all of the rooms are open (unless they are occupied of course) and Genny is very lovely about showing you around, encouraging you to explore. The house has been so well restored and it's really fun to look in each room and see how it is decorated. It feels like a true home, where you can really make yourself comfortable and enjoy it, not just a museum piece where you are afraid to touch anything.

There are many opportunities to serve yourself throughout the house. Each room has its own candy dish, with a few more scattered about the house. There's also a nice small kitchen on the 2nd floor with chips, etc. if you feel peckish. Genny's kitchen is also wonderful - we spent a bit of time chatting with her in there one morning.

- Make sure you allow time for breakfast! Genny is a wonderful cook, very accommodating (my sister is a vegetarian and had plenty), and almost entirely homemade. They are endeavoring to go as green as possible and will soon be making their own breads, baked goods, etc.
- The location is fantastic, parking easy (on street) but it is the hospitality and coziness of the house that has brought us back for two visits. I cannot stress enough how lovely the innkeeper is, and just how comfortable we were. On our first visit, over Thanksgiving, a friend of my sister's was in town visiting his family. He brought his two kids and without any trouble, Genny served fresh made cookies and was just so welcoming (even as we totally took over the main parlor).

We have family in the area, and this is now our home base when we visit. A wee bit more than what you'd pay at the Super 8 on Crittenden, but so very worth it.

Room Tip: - The DuPont Suite is spectacular, but does face 4th St. so there is (minimal) traffic noise. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anamcara1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Union, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed the weekend prior to Christmas. The mansion is beautiful and very generously furnished. The regular inn keeper was on vacation, so the inn keeper from the B&B across the street took care of us, she was very polite and did a great job of making us feel welcome.

We were the only guests our second night and were invited to have breakfast at the other inn. We especially enjoyed getting to know Herb, the owner, and another couple that are regulars.

It was a wonderful experience and we hope to return during the warmer months so we can do some outdoor exploring of Louisville.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Our daughter and son-in-law married at the Dupont Mansion, and it was a magnificent event!! They gifted us a night stay in the Dupont Suite, and we thoroughly enjoyed it, again!! The Innkeeper, Ginny, greets you at the door with such a welcoming smile. She gives you a quick tour of the house, then you are free to roam. The history of this mansion is intriguing. The mansion was beautifully decorated for the holidays. It is literally down the street from the vibrant heart of downtown Louisville. The Dupont Suite is gorgeous, the bed is inviting, the large jacuzzi tub is relaxing. All the other rooms are grand as well. The breakfast cooked to order by Ginny in the morning is fabulous, and there are other wonderful house amenities. We highly recommend the Dupont Mansion for a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LACOLVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
1,843 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Galt House Hotel
#28 of 95 in Louisville
3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
1,316 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dupont Mansion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dupont Mansion B&B

Property: Dupont Mansion B&B
Address: 1317 South Fourth St, Louisville, KY 40208
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DuPont Mansion B&B is an historic treasure with modern amenities. The tall ceilings, ornate fireplaces and carved woodwork look and feel like the circa 1889 Victorian Mansion that it is. Yet the high speed free WiFi throughout the Mansion, flat screen TVs in all guest rooms and Jacuzzi tubs in every bath (two are double) provide luxury beyond anything imagined over a century ago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dupont Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Dupont Mansion Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing