We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A great place for a getaway from our busy life."”
Review of Dupont Mansion B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dupont Mansion B&B
Ranked #2 of 20 Louisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Everything about this B&B was excellent! The innkeeper greeted us at the door when we first got there and was extremely nice and welcoming. She gave us a tour of the house and I was impressed on how the entire interior was impeccably cleaned. There are a lot of intricate details in the crown moulding, fireplace, furniture, etc., yet I failed to find even one speck of dust! Our room was very nice and cozy. The bed was comfortable and my wife and I both had a great night sleep. I was a little concerned that we were going to hear the people in the next room (we shared a common wall), but I did not hear a peep. There were snacks, drinks, coffee, tea, etc. in a nice small kitchenette on the second floor. The breakfast was superb and the innkeeper truly has a knack of making people feel right at home. I would stay here again and again. Writing this makes me wish I was still there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Dupont Mansion B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 353 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stunning mansion in historic area. Every room impeccably restored with lovely period furnishings that don't overwhelm the beauty of the woodwork and floors. We stayed two nights in the Carnegie Room which is very large, worth the climb up the stairs to the third floor. Jenny is the perfect hostess willing to share knowledge of the area. Special details are the ever-available coffee, tea, soft drinks, chocolates and our favorite, bottomless carafes of wine placed in several rooms for us to serve ourselves.

Room Tip: All are lovely - we got to peek in before others arrived.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluegrasslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at Dupont Mansion this past weekend in Louisville. When I walked in, I was instantly impressed with the decor- very old fashioned and classy. The owner, Herb, gave us a tour of the entire property and then took us up to our room. Nice, smaller rooms but comfortable enough for two. He asked us what our plans were for the night and gave us some location restaurant suggestions (we took his advice and headed over to Amici's which served amazing Italian food- definitely recommend eating there if you stay at Dupont). There are fresh chocolate chips cookies and red wine for guests which was just a nice, homey touch. There is about a full kitchen where you are store leftovers in the fridge, have a cup of tea, or grab a bottle of provided water. Overall, the decor and atmosphere was exactly what I was hoping for.

In the morning, we had a wonderful breakfast prepared fresh by Herb. My boyfriend has an allergy and Herb was kind enough to take the time to research what he could eat and prepare food that he could eat. It's always nice when someone takes that extra step for you. While finishing up our breakfast, Herb gave us great advice about where to walk around the Old Louisville neighborhood in order to get the most of our experience.

One thing to note while staying here- you are in Old Louisville. That means you are about a 30-40 minute walk from the downtown area. We had a car (there is lots of street parking and a small lot behind the mansion so don't worry about parking!) and also didn't mind walking far distances, but just something to note. If you are looking to be more around the downtown scene, you might want to stay closer to the area.

Fantastic weekend made even better by staying at Dupont Mansion. Had the added and unexpected treat of being in town for Thunder Over Louisville. Will definitely be back to Louisville in the future and hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the JP Morgan room and it was the perfect size for two. Was very quiet around our room...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We usually stay with family when in town, up for a wedding so we were on our own and had never stayed at a Louisville B&B. This is a perfect choice, Old Louisville is a fantastic place, easy to stroll around Central Park and very convenient to downtown, University of Louisville and Churchill Downs. The inn is in great shape, very clean and just wonderful! We chose the J P Morgan Room and it was superb, windows let in tons of sunlight in the mornings! Roomy bathroom, plenty of hot water on demand. The innkeepers are fantastic and breakfast was perfect. Lots of snacks, water, soft drinks and wine for the guests. Easy parking in front on the street and a few spaces behind the building. It was a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear get morning sun it seems. J P Morgan room was great. We had looked at all of them...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our stay at the Dupont Mansion was just great. Beautiful mansion and room, spotless, comfy bed, and great breakfast! The Inn keeper was out and Herb (owner) was just so friendly and feel us feel right at home. Sooo much better than staying in a hotel while in Louisville. The neighborhood where the mansion located was full of beautiful, historic mansions and worth a walk around that's for sure! Take your camera.

Room Tip: Pick one, they're all good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishingwahoo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Dupont Mansion B&B during our 50th wedding anniversary. We were entirely enthralled with both the service and the place! Gayle (owner) and Genny (Inn Keeper) were excellent hosts, making every effort to ensure that we had a most wonderful and memorable experience. Their graciousness cannot be overstated. Upon discovering that it was our 50th anniversary they went even beyond our farthest imaginations to make our special time even more enjoyable. The Mansion is gorgeous with beautiful furnishings, including several marble fireplaces. Breakfast at a table set with beautiful China adorned with a huge bouquet of red roses was the perfect way to awaken each morning. All the amenities at the Dupont, including the carafes of wine and snacks and the lovely bedroom and bathroom enhanced our time. We could not have asked for a more celebratory experience than we found at the Dupont and in Louisville. Thank you!
We have and will continue to recommend this wonderful get-away. We definitely will return when again we are looking to enjoy a lovely B&B in Louisville.

K& B
Bloomington, Indiana

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKL72012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I'm a business traveler and for very close to what I pay at chains, the Dupont Mansion is an amazing experience and value. The owners spared no expense to restore this gorgeous estate to it's original beauty. The service, room, and overall experience truly was outstanding. I have no excuse to stay at a chain in or around Louisville ever again. And the owners have more properties in the area so you have other amazing options.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 97 in Louisville
1,937 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,391 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 97 in Louisville
4,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 97 in Louisville
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dupont Mansion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dupont Mansion B&B

Address: 1317 South Fourth St, Louisville, KY 40208
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range: $129 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DuPont Mansion B&B is an historic treasure with modern amenities. The tall ceilings, ornate fireplaces and carved woodwork look and feel like the circa 1889 Victorian Mansion that it is. Yet the high speed free WiFi throughout the Mansion, flat screen TVs in all guest rooms and Jacuzzi tubs in every bath (two are double) provide luxury beyond anything imagined over a century ago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dupont Mansion Hotel Louisville
Dupont Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing