We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Somber and moving visit

Was just passing through town and decided to stop at the Zachary Taylor National Cemetery. I am... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
Spaceace98
,
Toledo, Ohio
Very appropriate

This setting is quite small but I thought very appropriate for a general and commander in chief to... read more

Reviewed September 16, 2018
cubbieblue2013
,
Hammond, Indiana
via mobile
Read all 67 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Louisville
from $22.00
More Info
from $15.00
More Info
from $159.00
More Info
from $157.94
More Info
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
37
17
13
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
17
13
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buried here rows and rows military history resting place presidential sites president of the united states men and women awe inspiring burial veterans gravesite wars marker headstones sacrifice memorial flags
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 67 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2018

The cemetery has free entry and free parking. It does contain the burial site and monument for the 12th U. S. President, Zachary Taylor. When you drive through the main entrance to the cemetery, you go straight to the other end of the main road for Taylor's monument.

Thank ransom007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Was just passing through town and decided to stop at the Zachary Taylor National Cemetery. I am interested in history so wanted to see where President Taylor was buried.

It is a very moving stop with a small portion devoted to the Taylor family. Most of the graves are service men and woman.

It is work a 10 minute stop if you're passing through. President Taylor's house is also nearby, but is a private residence.

Thank Spaceace98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

We are history buffs and trying to see all presidential homes, museums and burial sites. Worth a 10 minute stop to see. Looking through the glass doors you can see the crypts of President Taylor and his wife. He made news a couple years ago when the remains were tested for arsenic as there was speculation he was poisened.

Thank hotel-hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

This setting is quite small but I thought very appropriate for a general and commander in chief to be laid to rest around men he admired most and probably felt most comfortable with.at any rate its worth the stop all presidential sites are.

Thank cubbieblue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

You can't just ride by and not see where a President is buried! This spot won't kill you to miss, but if you're in Louisville you ought to ride by. Many folks come by because it's a military cemetery. Spend the time to visit and pay reverance to a President and our military servicemen that sacrificed for our country.

Thank gburden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018

It is a hallowed place, not really an attraction, so don't look for excitement in my review. The main reason to come is to visit the burial grounds for the 12th President, Zachary Taylor, unless you have relatives buried there. The tomb and obelisk dedicated to President Taylor are well done and the grounds are maintained, unlike some cemeteries.

2  Thank Dewayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

As a history buff, one of my goals is to visit every presidential burial sites. This was #7. Very interesting and raised more questions to be explored when time allows.
Very peaceful day as the grounds crew was preparing for Memorial Day..

Thank obilon-kanobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018

The grounds are immaculate and it's obviously an historical place to visit. It's right off the road and easy to get in and out of, but there's not really any information posted about things. But if you are into history and in the area, by all means check it out.

1  Thank autismadvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2018

Nothing terribly noteworthy or beautiful to see here. I had to visit so I could check it off. It is at the back of a National Cemetery with the usual uniform headstones which are as much, if not more, visit-worthy as Taylor's memorial. For the advanced nerds, look for the TYPOGRAPHICAL ERROR on his memorial monument commemorating his service in the battle of BEUNA VISTA!

Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018

We travel a lot through the United States, and have been to several National Cemeteries along the way. Each one is justifiably beautiful, and you are instantly reminded of the sacrifices so many men and women have made for our country. The rows of white headstones, so meticulously cared for, are awe-inspiring. Seeing the gravesite of Zachary Taylor was the main reason we went into the cemetery, of course, but we found ourselves wandering around looking at, and reading, the headstones of others buried there. You cannot help but to leave this cemetery with a greater appreciation for our veterans.

Thank Travel50StatesUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews