We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIRKY RESTAURANT WORTH A TRY IF YOUR "FISH HUNGRY"”
Review of Mike Linnig's

Mike Linnig's
Ranked #137 of 1,781 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Southern Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“QUIRKY RESTAURANT WORTH A TRY IF YOUR "FISH HUNGRY"”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We enjoyed our recent visit to Mike Linnig's although the restaurant is kind of quirky. First, the food was very good and the service equally good. The portions are very generous and served hot and fresh. The quirkiness is with the operation itself. Servers write their names on "their" menus. Refills are not free after 3 p.m. and on Mother & Father's Day. This policy is clearly printed in the menu. I asked our server and she was unsure why this policy existed. The restaurant is mostly clean with the exception of the bathrooms and appears to be a local favorite with lots of outside dining on concrete picnic tables. This restaurant is worth a try especially if your "fish hungry".

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeramie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    84
    33
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Standard For Fried Fish”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

When we travel to the coast, we always compare their "fresh" seafood to Mike Linnig's. Usually Louisville's Mike Linnig's comes out on top if you are looking for well-prepared fried fish. My wife and I had lunch there on Sunday, 2/17, and we were not disappointed. We ordered fish sandwiches and they we not only very good, but they were also too big to eat in one sitting! The sandwiches, for around $9, always come with two huge, thick pieces of cod that could easily serve two people. While it is not fancy nor is it located on the trendy side of town, it is the region's best fried seafood restaurant without a doubt. The service is always prompt as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Fish”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wow, talk about fish - Mikes has it and lets just hope your stomach is as big as your eyes. The portions were huge and worth the price paid.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wing1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

we went to Mikes in August of 12 and this was first time for the wife and she enjoyed it and the food was wonderful. we look forward to going back there again this summer;

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank spottedhawk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great fish sandwich”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Grew up eating fish sandwiches in the Louisville area. Other parts of the country have no clue what you are talking about when you ask about a fish sandwich. Mike Linnig's is a great place, when ever I'm back in KY I always stop by...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank seethemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mike Linnig's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing