We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food downtown!”

Saffron's Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 1,785 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food downtown!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Was skeptical that there could actually be tasty food in downtown Louisville but Saffron's surprised me. Chicken kebobs were excellent - I tend to not order chicken when I go out since, most often, it comes out dry and tasteless. This chicken was some of the best chicken I've ever had - lots of herbs and spices made for great flavor and it was juicy and cooked perfectly! Portions were very big but I would have preferred a few more veggies instead of the mountain of rice it came with. The Persian tea we ordered was interesting - nothing like I've had before but it grew on me and I really enjoyed it with dinner. Only thing I didn't enjoy was the baklava. It is one of my favorite desserts and I don't get to have very often so I was def excited to see it on the menu. Sadly, this one was dry, very hard and not tasty at all. Seemed like it came frozen out of a box. Would not recommend ordering it. Overall the food was very good, however, the service could use some improvement. Although the restaurant wasn't very busy when we went, the servers were not up to par (I would know as I was a waitress for years) and were slow and inattentive. I would imagine that if you go when it's busy the service would be even worse. If you're downtown and looking for something different from the typical southern/American Kentucky fare I would recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    53
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Persian in Louisville”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was in Louisville for a business conference, found this restaurant on Trip Advisor and dined with 4 friends. The place was not very busy on a Thursday night and we were well taken care of by an enthusiastic and attentive wait staff. They started us off with a plate of veggies and cheese with warm pita bread as soon as we sat down. The menu focuses on Persian food and each of us enjoyed our food.

I strongly recommend the the "lamb special" which is not on the menu. It was about 8 thing lamb chops (rack of lamb lollipop size) grilled to perfection and served with will prepared saffron rice and veggies. I also got a very tasty dark Persian beer (bottled).

The food was excellent and fairly priced, although they automatically added in a 20% gratuity because we were a group of 5.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fontek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was the Friday before the Derby and we made reservations through our hotel. It was a very nice restaurant. The food was great! It was crowded but the people were not loud as in other restauruants we had visited. Our waiter was okay but it did not detract from our expereince.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MindyOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I heard about this place through Tripadvisor and really enjoyed our Sat. lunch here. The service was very good, food was delicious and couldn't be happier with the lamb preparation. Definitely suggest trying this restaurant out. And for the money I think they provided a very full plate. We actually just split their special and had plenty! Very good wine selection as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadde10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A little out of the way but worth it”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I couldn't believe just a few blocks, well within walking distance from downtown, is a truly wonderful Persian restaurant. I had a half order of rack of lamb and couldn't get through it all. they even make their own infused vodkas for truly unique martinis- not sickly sweet, but packed with flavor. This should be a don't miss- it will be for me the next time I get to Louisville. Family friendly- several Persian families were there with very well behaved children as well as couples. I was alone and felt comfortable. Before you hit the 'been there done that' places again- give this a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saffron's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing