We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Noisey”
Review of Uptown Cafe

Uptown Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Uptown Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 1,785 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Highlands
Cross street: Duker Ave
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Bit Noisey”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Menu was interesting. Food was good. Good selection of wine and beer.
A little noisey. There was a party next to our table and they were loud talkers.
Street and lot parking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    43
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A treat”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We often go here for lunch. The restaurant is located on Bardstown Road. The food is consistently good and a variety of options are offered. The dessert table highlights some fabulous treats.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank reedness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Local Eatery”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were visiting friends and had a very nice dinner. The location is in a great area of town near many night life options.

I definately recommend reservations for dinner. Although there is a bar area where you can wait. Expect to wait if you do not reserce.

The menu offers a variety of choices, whether you prefer salmon or pasta or steak. I enjoyed the pasta with shrimp. The portions are pretty generous without being ridiculous.

We dined on Saturday night and it was busy and loud. Unless you seek quite and romantic dining this is a very good choice, and is very popular with the locals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Casually elegant food and setting”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Four of us dined at the Uptown Cafe Sat., 12/15/2012 and had a wonderful experience. First of all, the appetizers are interesting, well-prepared, and varied. You could make a great meal out of the appetizers alone! I am especially fond of the black bean cakes, which are served on a bed of crisped spinach. They have bits of nuts and possibly dried cranberries in them, which make them the best in town (or anywhere, for that matter). The lentil soup was very good, also, as was the hummus appetizer, which provides for a great deal of variety. The salads were next--again, all winners. I had a salad which included fresh berries, cheddar cheese, nuts, and poppy seed dressing--divine. My husband and I split the filet special. The kitchen will "kitchen split" an entree for you for a little extra ($3?), giving each person ample side dishes. The filet was tender and cooked exactly as I'd ordered--mostly well done, but a bit pinkish, preserving the juices. Try any of their specials--they really are special. I have eaten here roughly 20 times a year for the past umpteen years (however long they have been here) and I am always happy to go back. Too bad I rarely have room for their gourmet desserts, such as gateau ganache, a mousse or creme brulee. Keep up the great work!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Burgesskpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
realtime0777
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Neighborhood favorite”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My second favorite in the neighborhood, Baxter Station is my first, but a great moderately priced bistro that is in the heart of the "hip" Louiville Highland district. Great during the warmer months with outside seating but cozy in the colder months too. Food is good, I reccommend the salmon croquets, but service can be ify at times. The owner is very gracious.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank realtime0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uptown Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Uptown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing