We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New & Cool”
Review of Relish - CLOSED

Relish
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Prince Edward County
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“New & Cool”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Restaurants reviewed in free hotel magazines are often disappointing but not Relish (Food & Drink Magazine, Summer 2015). We arrived on a scorching and busy Friday evening with no reservation, but the pleasant hostess quickly found us a table. Service was pleasant and professional and the food was as unusual as it was excellent. We tried several salads, and the fantastic burger, cooked rare as requested, and with delicious little potatoes. Good beer list and a nice Vermont cider. Next time we will remember to leave room for desserts. Prices were reasonable and the minimalist décor, the easy parking and, for out of towners easy to find location, all added to the enjoyment. We will go back whenever we are in Louisville and try the take out, perhaps for the drive home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh and casual on River Rd.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is right on River Rd. across from U of L Rowing and down from Waterfront Park. Every soup, salad, salmon, burger and entre dish we have tried here is terrific. They also have a good selection of apscale take out food and desserts. Attentive service. Beer and wine list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WNgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great, healthy food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten lunch and gotten carry out here at least ten times. The food is relatively simple but the ingredients are excellent and the execution is often clever. The name "relish" is appropriate because the use of herbs, citrus, and eclectic cuisines generally results in very flavorful and exciting food. What's not to like? Excellent, well-informed servers, food that tastes great and is good for you, and fair prices. Favorites include the lamb moussaka, the lemon yogurt cake, and the Thai soup.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank freshLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Neat new place off the beaten path”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

You need a car to get there. This new, bustling, noisy restaurant is down on River Road opposite the UL boat house in a short strip of shops. The latest enterprise of Susan Seiler with chef Jack Beeson, the food is fresh and tasty and well-prepared and presented. The restaurant seats about 50 at tables or a long bar by the window. Lunch was busy. We tried the the Old Hat burger served on naan with avocado, Mancehgo, smoked paprika aioli and shallot jam and the chicken salad sandwich. Each sandwich came with a soup or side so we tried the carrot soup of the day and roasted beet salad. Everything was delicious. We couldn't resist a sweet ending with a chocolate sable cookie and an almond meringue cookie. The total bill was $24 plus tip. I'll definitely go back the next time I'm in Louisville.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILiketoTravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A worthy choice...”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

On the recommendation of a colleague, and having heard Relish now has dinner service, I gave it a try. I was very impressed by immaculate cleanliness, pleasant and attentive service, and the tasty and healthful menu choices. The quinoa potstickers were delicious, and my perfectly cooked salmon was a delight. I even indulged in a lovely dessert of coconut pound cake with pineapple. It all made for a great evening out, and I can heartily recommend this restaurant. If I had to quibble about anything, it would simply be that because of all the hard surfaces and absence of textiles, the noise level was a bit on the high side, but that certainly is not a deal-breaker; just figured I should say something on the other end of the scale so I don't appear too enraptured with the place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relish also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing