We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Servers just don't get any better than our server (Gary) the food was great, the place clean best value in town.”
Review of Ryan's Family Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ryan's Family Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Servers just don't get any better than our server (Gary) the food was great, the place clean best value in town.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The service was outstanding. Our server seem to anticipate our every need. the Buffet tables were clean & neat. Choices on the buffet included roast beef that was outstanding, Fried and baked Chicken that would put the Colonel to shame, baked fish, meat loaf, etc..There was a good choice of vegetables, the salad bar offered an endless variety of items including fresh fruit ,The freshly cut pineapple was Heavenly. Then the dessert bar, including an almost unlimited number of items. MY favorite was the hand dipped Butter Pecan Ice Cream, possibly the best I've ever eaten.I can't speak for the other locations, but this Ryan's Restaurant provided an all around great meal for the money!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wp721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Ok Buffet”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The wife and I ate here over the weekend. I thought it was over priced. It cost us $27 and some change. The food was bland. They were not very fast to replenish food. The steak was very chewey. The desert section had more sugar free selections than anything. I would not recommend this place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoosierboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, PA
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good value !”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We are senior citizens who took advantage of the early bird special and felt we certainly got our money's worth. The variety of food gives everyone plenty of choices. Our server Gary was the best and sympathized with us on the frigid temperature in the restroom - Brrr! But we think Golden Corral beats Ryan's with variety.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2seniorcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A good family place”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Ryan's offer's a well balanced meal for a reasonable price. Steak is a little more expensive, but it is a fine place to take hungry children

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gent258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Service where was it ??? 1”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

When Ryan`s was open here in Lexington, they use to carry your tray to the table I guess not at this one , the waitress use to ask you every now and then how is your meal do you need anything . But not here ! No shout out to these place We Started with one waitress and ended with none she went out for a smoke , lol , I really wish they would open back up in Lexington where I don`t even have to go back to this place ever again ! Really don`t think i`ll be back again !!! 1

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rev Roderick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryan's Family Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing