We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Find”
Review of El Caporal

El Caporal
Ranked #787 of 1,771 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
171 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Find”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Bottom Line - Excellent Mexican Restaurant! I was traveling through the Louisville area and had stopped for the night. In looking for a place to eat, I stumbled onto El Caporal and could not have been happier. The restaurant was not very busy the night I was there, an ice storm was on the way, but I was greeted like I was a regular when I walked in the door and they maintained that attitude the entire time I was there. I asked my waiter for a recommendation and he definitely pointed me in the right direction. I had the Enchiladas Super Rancheros - 5 different enchiladas with all the fixings - and they were really delicious. However, be hungry if you order this item, it's a lot of food. I liked the spice level on the platter but some might think it too hot. They had a very good chili habanero sauce on the table if you wanted more heat - which was a good thing for me. The service was prompted but not intrusive and I enjoyed the meal very much. I though the prices to be excellent and I will go back when I am in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Around the corner”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I could walk to this restaurant. Really good mexican food. Its on a side street about a block and half away from where I stay. Service excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JED1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place and met reviews”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

While staying in Louisville for a couple of days, we were looking for a good place to eat. Saw the reviews and thought to give it a try. The place met the expectation set by the reviews. Service was good and fast. Food was hot and very tasty. Only one problem - order a margarita on the rocks and was given a frozen one. That was fixed quickly but the bill was for a frozen drink. Not happy about that. Otherwise this would be a place we would go back to if in the area again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ghtester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Americanized Mexican”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We've eaten here often, and never had a bad meal. (I'm writing this review for the one near the Sam's Club in Louisville) The service is always excellent, the margaritas delicious, and the food is always very good. Go there if you can!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmagique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great discovery!”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Only 5 minutes from Bashford a full memu and value for your dollar. The waiter was prompt and attentive. Flan was fantastic.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Caporal also viewed

 

Been to El Caporal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing