We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food”

Bluegrass Brewing Company
Ranked #335 of 1,757 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Goodview, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We didn't have to wait very long for a table, even though they were very busy. Staff was nice. Wait for food wasn't bad at all. Asked for well done burgers and that's what we got. Burnt on outside edges though. Got the fish also and that was a delightful surprise. A nice large piece of white fish, cooked just right. A bit skimpy on the fries on all plates though. I believe they are seasoned in some sort of Garlic also. Plain fries would have been a big plus.
Overall meal was good though and given the choices around downtown Louisville I'd return again. Two burgers and fish dinner ran us about $38 not including tip.
Within 5 minute walk to Galt House Hotel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    60
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor Seating, Decent Grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Came through Louisville on our way to a golf trip in Lexington and decided on BBC for lunch. Decent portion sizes on all of the dishes, the chips were very good. The seasonal brew I had, the psychosis was pretty good but a little fruity for my taste... probably should have stuck with my initial thought of the Kolsch.

All in all, average experience. The wait staff was friendly but nothing to write home about. I won't stay away from the place if back in Louisville, but certainly not a "must stop" in my opinion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoshB234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love the new patio set-up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped in for a beer or two for the first time since the Spring. The new patio is amazing, love that it is dog-friendly now. The open air feels nice on a summer day!
Thanks for the great service and delicious beer (and best margarita I've had at a non-Mexican bar in a long time!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganne456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Beer; Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stumbled onto this place our first time visiting the city, and we were thrilled to have gone there. The microbrews were great, and satisfied our totally different palates (I like hops, he likes dark ales), the food was head and shoulders above typical pub fare, and - the kicker for me - they had so many delicious vegetarian options! My husband and I can rarely split dishes, but the veggie fare was so good here that he was more than happy to eschew meat and eat with me!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for a brew on a pleasant evening in April. We sat out on the deck with our dog. At first we didn't know if we would stay because the service was a little slow. In the end it worked out well. The food was better than expected, the beer was fresh and tasty, and the waitress was friendly. My only comment is that a waitress in a brewpub should have better product knowledge about the beer the brewery is making.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jollyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluegrass Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Bluegrass Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing