We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 610 Magnolia

610 Magnolia
Ranked #157 of 1,748 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Wonderful cooking and creative menus and good wine. I was very glad to finally be able to be there. I wish they had mentioned the upcharge for the foie gras, though warned, I might have passed what is the best I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roseyfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    17
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
400 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A gem in Old Louisville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We are in Louisville every year for Derby and 610 would be impossible to get into so we were glad to be here on a regular weekend to be able to try it. The choices for a 3 or 4 course dinner ($55 & $65) were interesting and fun to be able to try a bunch of different items. The smoked octopus was excellent on the first course, chilled pea soup superb on course #2. The salmon and scallops were both great on #3. The banana split flavors desert was the only one that was not too interesting. Good wine list with a balance of prices so you did not have tp start at $80 and go up from there, we tried two nice Spanish wines in the $40 range. Service was good and the place is comfortable. It is in a great neighborhood, Old Louisville, which boasts one of the largest collections of Victorian houses in the country, makes a great stroll on a nice evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RKAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best meal in louisville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Perfectly timed 4 course meal, incredible sauces and flavor and a really great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicki1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty good but not out of this world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The food is inventive and the ingredients are very fresh. The menu gives ample choices. My husband had three courses and I had four. We found the Amuse trio very interesting and enjoyed all the flavors. The 1st and 2nd course were also very good. We were a bit disappointed with the entree - I had the salmon and my husband had the lamb. They failed to ask how we would like it cooked and I found the salmon a little undercooked for my taste. We did not try the pairings but did find the wines to be very good and the sommelier was very helpful. One distraction was that we dined on an exceptionally hot night and were seated upstairs. The air conditioning did not work well. The experience was pretty pricy - around $180 with food and wine and the 18% gratuity which is added on the bill. Overall, I would say the dining experience was good but not perfect.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gratzparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome job!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

One of the best meals I have ever had! Chef Edward did a great job!!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 610 Magnolia also viewed

 

Been to 610 Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing