We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle of the road, not bad-not great, small portions”

Osaka Sushi & Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #302 of 1,767 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Clifton
Orlando
Level Contributor
147 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Middle of the road, not bad-not great, small portions”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a groupon for $30 that we had bought for $15, so we ordered: 2 waters
Edamame (very small)
Eel Roll
Cucumber Roll
Dynamite Roll
Special Roll
Our bill came out to $55.00
To be honest with you, they all had similar flavors, aside from the roll with the fried shrimp.
I had asked the server if they could substitute rice paper, instead of rice, he said it would be $1 up-charge per roll, no biggie, I had suggested it on the eel and cucumber rolls.
As you can see in the picture they replaced the seaweed with rice paper, and still used the rice. No biggie, I just don't like to fill up on rice, and pointed out a similar roll, listed in appetizers that I thought the roll would be prepared as.
But there are worse things that could have happened, we will probably seek out new sushi places in the future, just to see how they compare.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank circlearoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Favorite sushi place”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We live in walking distance to Osaka and is by far our favorite place to get sushi. Its a little pricey if you are just getting sushi but its worth the money. Delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RacheeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Its not at the top of my list, but Osaka sushi is definitely better than most of the sushi places in town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aviv52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GNO”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We sat at the bar & watched the preparation of several dishes, while chatting. We were not rushed & enjoyed edamame, followed by ginger salad & yummy rolls presented on one plate to share. They were flavorfull & just enough for two chicks. We were full to the brim & enjoyed our girls night out. The atmosphere is a little worn out, but we found it clean, with attentative service. A nice neighborhood sushi bar.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GFNetwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stopped in here after having a massage hoping to have some good food. I ordered the yum-yum hand roll with a rainbow roll to share while he ordered to beef teryaki. The beef was SO over cooked and dry and there was barely any sauce on it. The portion of the beef was good but there were not very many veggies. The rolls were good and I enjoyed them but the other food was not.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacerr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Sushi & Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Osaka Sushi & Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing