We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Mexican restaurant”
Review of Mexico Tipico Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mexico Tipico Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Louisville
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Our favorite Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is our favorite Mexican restaurant in Louisville that we've found so far. The service is fast and friendly enough and the food is outstanding with generous portions. My personal favorite is the "Special Dinner," which might use a name change to the plural "Special Dinners" since I don't think one has ever lasted fewer than two meals - plan on taking some home. It's a bargain at right around $11.

They serve alcohol here so you can wash down that spicy food with a margarita or a cold beer. There are also two televisions, one of which usually has English-language sports programming while the other has Spanish programming.

The only downside to this place is access from Dixie Highway, which is still only a minor inconvenience at worst. We normally approach from the south, so it's easy enough to turn in to but going back south on Dixie is a bit of hassle that usually involves heading north and finding a place to turn around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouieBiz-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK. Used to be great”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I have been eating here, since I was a child. They used to have better service and food. The last time we ate there we ordered two shrimp chimi's. The shrimp was like rubber and it was terrible. I hope they improve food and service as well as outside of building. It is starting to be ran down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarrafrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love the food.. its getting expensive and portions are getting small”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Just ok.. used to be wonderful. Prices going up and portions getting smaller

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarrafrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Louisville's Best Mexican”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We eat at Mexico Tipico at least once a week if not twice a week. In my opinion this is the best Mexican in Louisville. They have recently added a Fajita Potato to the menu and it is awesome! Great Margarita's, great salsa and cold beer! A must for the Mexican lover!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“the smell”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

the restaurant was built in the 70s as cow palace. so the building is 40 years old and looks like it and smells like it also.
the food is not bad if you can get past the stink from the carpet.
the building needs to be torn down
im sure it is rat infested

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico Tipico Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing