We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bucking the Trend!”

Buck's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #27 of 1,751 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Louisville
Kentucky
Level Contributor
150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Bucking the Trend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a restaurant that never made it out of the 1950s/1960s. Buck's is a lovely establishment in the part of Louisville called Old Louisville, a district of Victorian and Edwardian mansions. It's in the middle of a older residential area-it is a must for someone looking for an amazing meal. The restaurant is tucked away on Ormsby in old Louisville in the Mayflower hotel. They have a parking lot which is very helpful with cars parking up and down the street. The restaurant's proximity to the Filson Historical Society, with its exceptional art collection, is another plus.

They have beautiful fresh white flowers with dark walls and a grand piano. The staff makes you feel as if you are a member of the family from the first moment you step inside. Upon entry you will realize that the management cares about china, glasses and table cloths (shocking in 2013).

They have an excellent pianist at night. They have a great adult beverage selection, extensive wine and bourbon list. Service was very good and the food was flavorful. Great appetizers and deserts and just a very relaxed atmosphere. Will definitely return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Artie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    61
    16
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
louisville ky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great atmosphere from the time you pull in and park. This is located in "Old Louisville" where they hold the St.James Art Fair. I prefer to pull down the court and park because the homes in this area are magnificent. The restaurant is great not too large and not to small. We sit in the first table right in front of the piano, but was the perfect sound level,it did not interfere with conversation but worked as a background. The menu is not large we had fried oyster Rockefeller which were good. We both got salads and my gf had the fillet and I got the pork chops. Both were incredible. The only down was here mashed potatoes were cold and she told the waitress and nothing was offered to replace it she just said I'll let the kitchen know. Rest. Of both meals were incredible.$130 appetizer-2salads-Filet dinner-Pork Chop dinner-dessert(chocolate cheese cake was awesome)-2baileys& coffee-2glasses of wine,1cosmo-2New Castle beers

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thesandmanboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Buck's has really good food. We had the crispy fish and stuffed chicken and both were distinct and tasty. The service was adequate and the restaurant itself is very nice, but it tends toward the loud and crowded side. If you are looking for romance, this may not be the place, but for fun - go for it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rainbow Room Reminiscing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Love the food, love the atmosphere, waitstaff is fantastic, and the piano player, WOW! I had a big grin on my face the whole time. Even the place settings were whimsical.!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank westernstew85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

took a short cab ride from downtown to old louisville for a change from an every 2nd year visit. Was pleasantly surprised by the neighbourhood and the value this place offered. Good food, a piano player throughout the meal and good value without being rushed. A new favourite for our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlHalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buck's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Buck's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing