We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Fine Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayan Cafe

Mayan Cafe
Ranked #5 of 1,754 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Phoenix Hill
Description: The Mayan Cafe is a small, intimate space. Photos of our chef's village in Mexico cover the walls. We serve authentic Mayan food in an atmosphere of simple elegance.
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
109 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cozy Fine Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had been wanting to try this restaurant for a long time. My husband and I took our son there to celebrate his 25th birthday. First of all, even better than the food is the service. Our waiter did an amazing job. He was very informed about the ingredients and preparation and answered all our questions thoroughly. We all ordered something different, but our favorite was the pumpkin seed dip. I ordered the Vegetarian Burrito. It looked wonderful but fell a bit short with seasoning. I would still recommend the restaurant to those who like an intimate atmosphere with an interesting menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    98
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Eden, Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yucatan Peninsula Fusion Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great atmosphere and service. The food is good, I like the vegetarian burrito?(something like that) and the seasonal fish dishes are tasty. It is in the NULU district on market street downtown, near the old stockyards. I suggest reservations, they also make a drink with champagne and bourbon for the novice out of towner wanting to try bourbon. A memorble place for the dinner experience; try to get seating up front, the back tables put you in the rush of servers moving in and out of the back of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kentuckyken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic, authentic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Rabbit and cactus with fried plantains was incredible. Wish I could have tried other items as well, I'm sure it is all fantastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“awesome as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

the lima beans will change your life. Great cocktails too! Where else can you get a beet margarita? The atmosphere is cozy with some outside seating as well

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Food and Fine Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We are here for the week in Louisville and had many fine recommendations for dinner. This was a winner and the best so far. The cab driver knew the address without asking. We arrived early and the restaurant filled immediately with locals, always a good sign in a tourist city. From appetizers to dessert we were not disappointed. Far from it. Can't say that it exceeded our expectations because everyone from hotel staff to business men and women told us that it was a top restaurant with fabulous cuisine. So, how do you exceed that? Definitely a restaurant that I would return to again and again if I lived anywhere near Louisville.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wackyacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayan Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mayan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing