We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boombozz Pizza”
Review of Tony Boombozz Pizzeria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tony Boombozz Pizzeria
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Boombozz Pizza”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ate at Boombozz in the St. Matthews/Crescent Hill neighborhood for dinner. The food was good as usual with good service from our waitress. The side salad was not the best but went well with the garlic cheese bread, basically a pizza with no sauce. The pizza was very good as usual, we had the regular pepperoni. My favorite pie is a Margherita which is among several specialty pizzas. Beer and wine specials throughout the week. I must say if you want to have a quiet conversation over dinner, the place can be LOUD when crowded around the dinner hour. Especially when there is a double group table of 15 yelling at each other across their tables!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bkloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Great Pizza HORRIBLE Service”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went to Boombozz on Tuesday night. We ordered asian wings and a pizza, both of which were great! Our server dropped off our food and asked if we needed anything else and at that point we did say no, but in our defense he should have actually said "I will not be back for over 30 minutes and only after you ask another server to find me, so with that in mind what else do you need?" No exaggeration it was over 30 minutes before we saw him again and we did have to ask the other server on the patio to please find him. We absolutely lost the server lottery last night. The other server on the patio was great he checked on the table next to us at least 5 times, brought refills, boxes, check, and just made his presence known. Meanwhile, we sat there with empty glasses, needing napkins, eventually our check and to go box.

I would have been more understanding if the place were busy and the server was running multiple tables, but that was not the case. In fact when our server did finally resurface he did not come from inside the building he came from out back through the side gate.

If you go to BoomBozz and you server, according to our check, is “106 The Dude” ask for another section.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skeeter9908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pizza is unique and very good.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Liked the Pizza...didn't care for our server who was a bit of a pretentious jerk and not very attentive. Other server's seemed to be fine and the food was good enough we'll give it another go.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best pizza around, but totally overpriced and apathetic service to boot.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This used to be a great neighborhood pizzeria, something that we need more of in this age of chain dominance. Our family would eat here 2 and 3 times per week. New owners bought it and moved it across the street to a larger space that must have cost them a lot more to lease. They also got a liquor license and serve wine and beer. Which brings us to the effect...still the best pizza but now a huge up charge for the new digs. In addition, you can't look anywhere in the place without running into a TV screen. I really can't justify paying an extra 5 bucks for the same pizza I used to get and enjoying it less. Get someone else to pay for your new digs. A twice a week customer is done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monchichi516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza!”
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Nice restaurant, the pizza was delicious... There was a fairly large group of us and everyone seemed to enjoy their food. Good value also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rogoashear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Boombozz Pizzeria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing