We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Louisville Palace

Louisville Palace
Ranked #25 of 171 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Louisville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I first saw this place on a video of Allison Krauss and Union Station playing here in 2002 and was happy to find that it's just as beautiful in real life. One of those great early cinemas that managed to survive into the twenty-first century, and with an excellent location thanks to some overdue improvements to the street. Good acoustics and reasonably priced concerts. The Hitchcock film series is about to begin (July 2013). Can't imagine a better place to catch those classics.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank winterlight37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    23
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow, What a Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Ok, It's historic, it's beautiful and a great place to view a concert, or heck any type of event, I've been there for a food show and a concert, great concessions, not a bad seat in the house.

Now the secret that your average Joe doesn't know and well worth a look.

The entrance to the theater ceiling was created using historic figures heads, and yes their head statues, some I've heard will move (Freaky) however that is not the reall cool part. Ok now walk into the center and face the bar, take 4 steps then look up. you will find a gentleman that just doesn't fit the rest of the statues and that's because he built it that way, you see he was the architect of the palace!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tpmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience for large dinner party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We hosted a fine dining business dinner for 80 people and everyone walked away raving about the venue! We had a cocktail and hors de oeuvres hour in the bar area off the main foyer, with passed appetizers and our own private bartenders. Then moved to dinner in the main faces lobby foyer area which was a really unique area to host a large dinner party. Sydney, the director of sales, even gave our group a private tour of the theatre after dinner. The whole experience is worth hosting a dinner party at this venue, memories that will last a long time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
299 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A beautiful experience ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Can be a little tight in the lobby before/after an event. I love everything else about this beautifully restored theatre. All the seats offer a great view ..stepping up to the upper decks may leave you a bit breathless ...still worth any climb. Saw Leonard Cohen recently ...amazing sound. Must go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rdqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Absolutley stunning architecture inside this theatre from decades gone by. Very elegant. Lots of great shows.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank photobug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisville Palace also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing