We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More disappointment”

Mussel & Burger Bar
Ranked #13 of 1,757 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place was crowded and slow with a 45 minute wait for a table for two. The building the restaurant is housed in is pretty cool. It is loud. The menu features some nice wines from Portugal and Spain that you don't see everywhere but the pours are small and in mason jars. The menu looks good but the quality of the food is subpar.
The pork nachos were heavy on the pork and cheese and swimming in grease. The burgers are more expensive than Game's and I had trouble locating the meat. Was this pureed meat mixed in with seasoning like Philly Steak sandwiches? Another grease-laden item. The mussels were tiny and the portion again was small for the price and several were unopened due to not cooking them enough.
We split one appetizer and two entrees with 1 drink each for $70.
If you look around you can do alot better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dlam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    132
    31
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Burgers and Mussels actually make sense!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Pairing burgers with mussels seems odd. So much so, that I hesitated to eat mussels at a burger bar. So, on my first visit, I went purely with the beef. Good burgers come in different forms, depending upon your desire or taste. This place focuses on gourmet and they do it well. Everyone at my table raved aout their burgers, from the spicy to the bleu cheese versions.

So, because the burgers were so good, the next visit (next two visits), I went mussels. And, I was not disappointed! The curry cream and the bleu cheese versions were wonderful! Also tried the calimari app which weirdly reminded me of Bang Bang Shrimp at Bonefish. So good!

Only negatives: no draft beer, all bottles. I get that at home, so I like a few kegs in my bar.

Also, I tried the grilled fish tacos. I have to think the fried version would be better with the spicy mayo. The grilled fish just kind of clashed for me. That said, the corn on the cob was INCREDIBLE! Lightly fried with something cheesy and wonderful as a covering. Not sure i want to know how they added the taste and calories, but .... Good stuff!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou_Badinage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Thought I was in for a treat. Nope!!! Hammer heads burgers totally rock, burgers here were nothing compared to them. Mussels were good and decent portion. Fries weren't that great either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fund place with very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is a hoot. Great burgers and veggie burgers. And the mussels were as good as any we've had at the finest restaurant. Lots of buzz.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This IS the real deal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Went with friends while visiting Louisville. They told us we were in for a treat, and they were correct. We arrived about 6pm, later would be bad (unless you don't mind waiting a bit). The menu is fantastic. Start with a pitcher of there Margarita Blend, not a generic blend either; very good. Started with Lamb Meatballs with ricotta and baby basil. My partner and I split Blue cheese/shallot/ garlic mussels, over the top great. Then we split a short rib and cheese sandwich with a side of truffle fries. Others had different variations of their mussel offerings and lamb sliders. Would have given it 5 stars, but all the food came out at the same time. Would have loved to savor the flavors more. Don't miss out on this place, it' great!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Goyito W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel & Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mussel & Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing