We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorite restaurants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roots

Roots
Ranked #191 of 1,748 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is our favorite vegetarian restaurant by far. Lots of salads, soups and small plates to choose from. I love getting several choices to share for a wonderful variety. Love the pot stickers and fried noodles. Lots more too. They have a casual place next door which we want to try in the near future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Roots: Outstanding Vegetarian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The calming beautiful decor, the friendly staff ( our server was Roy), and the outstanding vegetarian food made our meal at Roots a wonderful experience. My daughter and I ordered the forbidden rice risotto (yummy!), beech mushrooms, seasonal root vegetables, and the steamed banana leaf. All were an array of amazingly delicious and mouthwatering flavors and textures. When my husband and I return in May, we'll be heading straight to Roots.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HMG1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We're going back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Outstanding food...although not totally vegan..what is, is spot on. The vegan "pho" soup is some of the best "pho" soup I have ever had, meat or not. And I have lived in Los Angeles so I've had some great "pho"

For my main course I had the tofu clay pot with brown rice...another winner. It was well seasoned and the pot kept the meal hot throughout.

My companions had the Japanese eggplant and pan fried rice noodles....all delicious.

We ended dinner with the chocolate and peanut butter pie....even without the offered whipped cream (non vegan) it was terrific.

Leaving we went next door to the carry out portion of the restraint (Heart and Soy) and got a Vietnamese sandwich to go....another great item

I would recommend you go out of your way to eat here.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kparidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An amazing and unlikely surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

On a slow Sunday evening visiting from NY, we dined here to be lucky enough to sit in the comfy and clean "floor" in the back room of this unique find. We are not vegetarians, mostly for the sheer fact that it is VERY difficult to find a GREAT vegetarian place anywhere, but mostly to cook these meals at home is challenging. After being spoiled by a great vegetarian place in New Hope, PA we were convinced no where else would compare. Once dining at Roots of Louisville, we were proven wrong. Not a huge fan of tofu, the Tofu Clay Pot stole my heart as my favorite dish and that was a HUGE surprise! The Crispy Pita Chips were good but needed a bit more truffle to be 100% on point. We also ordered the vegetable fajitas which were on special that day and my best friend claimed this as her favorite vegetarian meal she'd EVER had... EVER. ANYWHERE. The only thing that slightly disappointed was the bubble tea, but I can confidently say that I have had some GREAT authentic bubble tea, so it was a hard one to beat. Overall, I'd return here again and again. Even the service was fabulous and the server was extremely knowledgable on all the dishes and what would satisfy us. This is a great place. Can not WAIT to try next door at Heart & Soy next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank taylormccomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Fabulous menu, delicious food, and excellent service. Top rate vegetarian food at a very reasonable price. Great atmosphere, and great service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank violarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots also viewed

 
Louisville, KY
 

Been to Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing