We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local flavor”

Brown Hotel Lobby Bar
Ranked #1 of 1,754 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Nestled in the lobby of the stunning historic Brown Hotel, this lounge was a perfect pre-dinner stop while we were staying at the hotel. The flyte of bourbon offers a chance to sample new tastes, and I discovered a new favorite - Four Roses. The bartender was knowledgeable and friendly, easily cared for each guest in a busy lounge. Will definitely visit again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    101
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hot Brown Lobby Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stopped in to see the historic lobby bar and have a bourbon, and were blown away by the gorgeous ceiling and wall decorations. Service was friendly, and we decided to stay for a while and try the Hot Brown. Wish we had read the reviews that said it was big enough to share, because it sure would have been! We enjoyed looking at the antique sideboards among the furnishings, and reading through the vintage 1933 menu from the dining room.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect new drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

It was a lovely place to have a night cap at the end of the day.The decor of the old hotel is wonderful and the choice of bourbon is the best in the city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at Brown Hotel Lobby Bar, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Delighted to read your note.
Thank you for recognizing our commitment to bourbon. We carry a large selection and our bartending staff enjoy sharing their knowledge with our guests.
Hope to have you back with us soon.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kentucky Hot Brown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Came on the advice of a motel clerk to the Brown Hotel. The birthplace of the "Kentucky Hot Brown". Thoroughly enjoyed this tasty treat as well as a "Lobster Mac & Cheese". Service was excellent (not terribly busy) and the live piano was a nice touch. Awesome visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank intl_flightmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad W, General Manager at Brown Hotel Lobby Bar, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Pleased to read of your “awesome” visit to our lobby bar. Thank you for commenting on our famous Hot Brown, which brings guests from all over the country.
Hope to have you again with us in future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Brown Hotel's Hot Brown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We took a 2 day trip to Louisville, our first time. We decided we needed to try the original Hot Brown at the Brown Hotel. We ate in the lobby bar because it is just beautiful, spacious and lively with the Piano Player. All 4 of us (all foodies) ordered the Hot Brown and just loved it, just delicious! It's big enough for two if you aren't very hungry. Good service too. We had such a great time. (Note, the Hot Brown is also less expensive in Lobby Bar than Hotel restaurant. )

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kabecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Hotel Lobby Bar also viewed

 

Been to Brown Hotel Lobby Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing