We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to grab a drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Silver Dollar

The Silver Dollar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Silver Dollar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 1,754 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pope Street
Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to grab a drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great place to hang for a drink or two or have an entire meal. Have been twice since the place opened, once for dinner and once for drinks. Service was exceptional both times. Very attentive wait staff. This past time, boyfriend and I stopped in for a couple of drinks and an appetizer after dinner at a place that wasn't completely filling. Such a wonderful atmosphere to hang out in for a drink or two or for dinner with friends. We split the beef empanadas. Delicious - especially with all three sauces they offer, including hot, salsa verde and mole/barbeque sauce. Boyfriend was excited because they are the only place in town we know that serves Coors banquet beer, not Coors light, on tap. I had a delicious glass of Pinor Noir. Loved the record player at the bar that plays mostly Country Western tunes. Can't wait to go back to the Silver Dollar for dinner or drinks. No trouble parking streetside on a Friday night either.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spatula259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    76
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
198 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I took my wife and mother to the Silver Dollar. All I can say was it was very good food. They have a large selection of beers to choose from. I had the Texas style chili. It was very good but very spicy. The portions was very large. I would go back again. The prices was also reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoosierboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“One of my favorite restaurants in Louisville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I come here all the time, the food is always excellent. Great whiskey and tequila selection. Long microbrew list. Try the chicken and waffles!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Plus Live Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Food here is excellent pub style food. We were four for lunch on a Saturday (9-22-120 and who knew that there would be live rock music, and the only complaint was that it was to loud to enjoy comfortably. The acoustics did not do justice to the vocalist. The sound system did not seem to be adjustable. However, I recommend that anyone that is unsure of what to order try The Texas Toast. The Huevoes Rancheros with Salsa Verde was also very good. I liked the draft KY Bourbon Beer. This appeared to be a locals pub located in an old firehouse. I suggest that if you live in the neighborhood that you try it and if you are a visitor to KY seek it out. A good scene.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosesRosesRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We heart Silver Dollar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Love it here. Cool vibe, but cool without overdoing it. The bar itself is long but cozy. There is lots of outdoor seating in the back, under cover. When the weather is nice, the bay doors will be open.
The menu is unique and big, for both food and beverage.
I've been about 5 times, always a pleasure. Fried chicken and waffles are a must. Cocktails are made with care, the beer list is well-thought-out.
Can't wait to return!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luhrs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silver Dollar also viewed

 

Been to The Silver Dollar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing