We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fantastic staff, wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #14 of 99 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2006

I was truly surprised to find such a beautiful hotel in the middle of downtown Louisville next to adult bookstores and burned buildings. This place is a real find. The staff make it a fantastic trip from the door man "Mr. Ed" who won't leave you alone until you have every need taken care of, to the bell men who remember you for four days and always chat in the elevators, to the food service men who completely prepared my meal for me after delivery (removing saran wrap, opening syrup, etc.) to the desk clerks and sundry store clerk - I mean EVERYONE is so happy and fabulous. I loved staying here. All staff took that extra step to make your stay perfect.

The rooms feel brand new and are colorful - with exquisite bedding that they sell and I may have to buy. The crisp sheets and down comforters were luxerious. The bathroom was nicely appointed. TV had many "in theatre" movies to buy. Internet hookup. All good.

We were there during "Thunder" the big annual fireworks show and the Marriott had to hire more staff for security. They were equally nice and socialable. In fact, they had a security guard walking the halls all night to insure there were no loud parties! THAT is service! My room was always nice and quiet.

The Marriott is attached via walking bridges to the Louisville Convention center and so very centrally located for conferences. I would definitely stay again.

(Restaurant food good too!)

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

905 - 911 of 927 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2006

A great experience, an excellent front desk, elegant furnishings and a comfortable bed. Close to everything, clean, large beautiful bathroom, what else can I say?

Stayed: April 2006
4  Thank SueandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2006

This hotel is well located next to the convention center. It is walking distance to the Science museum and The Actor's Theatre of Louisville (where the yearly, new play "Humana Festival" is produced in March and April.) The Concierge floor offers a full breakfast buffet on the 16th Floor. Very nicely appointed and well stocked with a variety of choices and helpful staff. (But only operates Mon to Thurs.) The only drawback to the hotel was the pool which has no lifeguard, so if you want to use it you have to have 2 people in the pool/Hot tub area. Since I was alone it was disappointing. Luckily as I was leaving the floor a family came and I was able to use the pool for as long as they stayed. The fitness room was well equipped and there was a bathroom between the pool and fitness room with shower facilities and towel service. The regular breakfast buffet on the lobby level was a pretty good deal at around $10,00 with even more selection than the buffet on the Concierge floor, though the wait staff was not adequate for the large room and we had to ask for juice 3 times before we finally got it.

5  Thank B-Lynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2005

Let me start off by saying that I usually stay in 5-10 different hotels a year, and am a Silver VIP member with the Hilton HHonors program.

I stayed in this brand new hotel in June, 2005 for one night, using my Mariott Rewards points, in a standard room, with club lounge access.

Rooms:
When I checked in, the computer systems were down, so they were not able to make me up a key, however, a member from the security team escorted me to my room, and unlocked the door for me. The rooms are on the small side, however, they are well appointed, with a very comfortable bed, lounge chair, and desk with high speed internet access. The bathrooms are your average hotel bathrooms, however, it (and the room) was clean, which is really all that matters.

Club Lounge:
The lounge is large, with 2 TVs and plenty of tables, chairs, and couches. It is staffed throughout the day, and they have a full breakfast with eggs, bacon, etc..., snacks at noon, and a light dinner. Outside of the meal times, there are refreshments out. The lounge staff was friendly, and were ever happy to remove your plate if you were finished.

Staff:
I was pleased by the staff, as they were all very efficent and helpful to any request you may have.

Location/Amenities
The hotel is on the edge of the "Main" downtown area, however it is about a 10 minute walk from the Louisville Slugger factory, 5 minute walk from 4th Street Live, 2 minute (if that) walk to the Convention center, and about a 15 minute drive from the airport. Also, if you need one, there is a FedExKinkos within a 5 minute walk.

There is a Papa John's pizza across the street, and a Starbucks located in the lobby.

I would definately stay at this hotel again if I have the chance.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2005

This hotel is nice, but not a spa facility at all. I tried booking a massage, and no one, especially concierge, did not know what to do. I stayed on the phone about 15-30 minutes until I finally gave up on the massage...

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coelacanthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Schnieder
12
Reviewed October 11, 2005

Yes, the building is ugly. But as you enter the foyer, it becomes somewhat nicer. Until...you reach the incredibly unattractive carpet and colors that are in the rooms. My retinas were blinded with how many primary colors were vying for my attention. Too much emphasis on the flat screen tv's, not enought on making things coordinate. The staff looks like college dropouts that have never seen scissors or razors and have the attitude to match. No one seems to have worked in the hotel industry here longer than 2-3 months. Food in Blu was overpriced but exquisite, bar was overpriced, overcrowded, and overanxious to please. I'll give it 2 stars because it is new, but I have a feeling this hotel is going to deteriorate with age, as opposed to the Galt House, or the Hyatt.

Stayed: October 2005
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2005

How can anyone give this place a bad review?!?!?!? I stayed for two nights and have only wonderful things to say.

Valet... fast and cordial

Check in...Very polite, helpful when we requested adjoining rooms.

Rooms...nice size, clean!!!, tub spotless, pillow to mattress, feather pillows, lots of towels!!!!

The place is brand new, people were cleaning at all times and there seemed like an employee was stationed around every corner to help guide you and greet you.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank themacs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#12 of 99 in Louisville
1,490 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 99 in Louisville
4,185 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 99 in Louisville
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 99 in Louisville
2,026 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Address: 280 W Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1432
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $164 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Louisville Marriott Downtown is an ideally located hotel in Louisville, KY - situated in the heart of the city connected to Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk. Our hotel is near many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at our 4-star hotel in Louisville enjoy many luxurious amenities including an on-site Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. For delicious onsite dining options, try Blu Italian Grille. To start your day, you can enjoy a signature Starbucks Coffee at Louisville Marriott Downtown. Choose Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country in Kentucky! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing