We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham al
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2009

In town for weekend getaway. Service and staff was great. Concierge gave great tips for restaurants nearby . Went out of the way to find a "special" restaurant for the evening. One side of hotel has so- so view of the city , the other a nice view of the river which is a few blocks away . Hotel was decorated for Christmas and the lobby lights where down low. VERY ROMANTIC. Each evening, flavor infused waters in beautiful decanters was a courtesy drink for guests in the lobby. I looked forward to it each day. Sport restaurant located in the hotel ok. Food was regular chain menu fare. Nachos's , Hamburgers etc. Several large in house meetings going on but did not interfere with the service of staff. Will return.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldschoolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    310
    79
    31
    22
See reviews for
113
151
35
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

I stayed here for the National Guard Association Conference and was overall impressed. The staff was unbelievable!! From the moment I drove up and a bellman helped me unload the luggage and refused to allow me to carry it myself to checkout when they helped once again. I am a Marriott Rewards member and try to stay in the company it was a bonus that the conference was there. Being a rewards member I was upgraded to the Concierge floor without asking and was treated first class all the way. The room was very clean and very well furnished from the pristine king sized bed to the flat screen TV. Turn down service was very nice and unobtrusive. The concierge was extremely helpful with a variety of solutions to any problem encountered.
The only issue was an undisclosed "no party" policy. During the conference there are a variety of hospitality suites with a common theme and competition. Not sure why, but the hotel booked guests for the conference on other floors than the hospitality suites and booked non-conference guests on the hospitality suite floor. Shortly after the suites kicked I began noticing guests going down to the lobby and back then back to the elevators in order to switch to rooms not on the same floor. The guests didn't seem too upset with us, only confused that they would be booked on our floor. After a little of this, hotel security arrived on the floor and began asking people to leave and threatening to call the police claiming we were violating the hotel's "no party" policy. I'm not sure what they thought we were going to be doing with a floor of hospitality suites and the steady flow of large screen TV's, props, and audio equipment going into them.
I would definitely stay here again while traveling or for a night away but I'm sure the conference will be headed back to the Galt House when it is Louisville's turn to host again.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickynfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUISVILLE, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2009

This past weekend my husband and I stayed at the Marriott in downtown Louisville, Ky. We enjoyed our entire stay. Room service was excellent, our suite was spotless and the bed was wonderful. We ate at the Blu which was top notch. We used the pool and the hot tub which was great because it was snowing outside!
Overall we could not have asked for anything better.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakdlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I stayed 3 days 2 nights for the GIC convention and it was a wonderfull and pleasent stay. Staff was very helpful, rooms were very nice and extremly clean. The bed was very comfortable and I would reccommend staying there to anyone. They hosted all the the convention goers wonderfully, the one thing that could have been improved was contracting a better shuttle company for the Expo transport. Other than that, thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank naz95630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOREST, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2008

After a horrible first night in the Galt House, we decided to cut our losses and go up the street to the Marriott. We checked in and then drove around to the back of the hotel to park in the garage. A short elevator ride from the garage to the lobby and we were walking right by a full functioning Starbucks. Perfect!!! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful but the view out the back wasn't grand. The restaurants inside the hotel looked great, but were taken up with alot of people from a wedding party, so we walked up a few blocks to 4th Street Live and many other restaurants. Checkout was looking like it was going to be crazy with alot of us in the lobby at one time. One of the employees was walking around helping everyone navigate the counterspace and got us out of there in less than a minute. All in all, this stay was absolutely refreshing. I would definitely stay here again on our next run through Louisville.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cabledog369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, IL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

I spent 4 nights at this hotel and it is the second time I have stayed there. The hotel is fairly new so the room are decorated and appointed very nicely and the beds are extremely comfortable. We had a corner room with windows on two sides with a terrific view of the downtown area. It would be nice if internet service was free in the rooms, but there is a $10 charge per day. Public use is free on floors 1 and 2, however, I did experience problems getting onto the internet one of those days in the public areas. Service is very good and you can't beat the huge flavored iced decanters of water in the lobby. Too bad they didn't leave them out all day instead of just in the late afternoon when people are arriving. Parking is very pricey at the hotel, but you can find alternate parking in the garage right next door shared by the Hyatt for half the cost. My only criticism of this hotel is that the beds in the double rooms are doubles instead of queens. This is very odd considering this hotel is only a couple years old. I was here for a convention and the common areas are also well kept with some of the nicest public area restrooms I have ever seen in a hotel. There is a Starbucks in the lobby making a quick breakfast very easy. I would stay at this hotel again if I needed to stay in Louisville.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dmaxwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

The Marriott is in an excellent location, close to bars, restaurants and shops. The staff had a great attitude which helped create a nice environment in the hotel. My room was clean and spacious with nice views. I like the Sports bar which was a good place to hang out and much more relaxed than normal hotel bars. The leisure facilities were well equipped. Couldn't fault any part of my experience.

  • Liked — Sports bar, great staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 96 in Louisville
1,339 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 96 in Louisville
1,880 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 96 in Louisville
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 96 in Louisville
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Property: Louisville Marriott Downtown
Address: 280 West Jefferson, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Louisville Marriott Downtown is an ideally located hotel in Louisville, KY - situated in the heart of the city connected to Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk. Our hotel is near many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at our 4-star hotel in Louisville enjoy many luxurious amenities including an on-site Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. For delicious onsite dining options, try Blu Italian Grille. To start your day, you can enjoy a signature Starbucks Coffee at Louisville Marriott Downtown. Choose Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country in Kentucky! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing