We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for KDF Marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stayed for KDF Marathon”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here for the Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon. Hotel was perfect. Directly across the street from the expo at the Convention Center, lots of restaurants near by and only a few blocks from the start/finish lines. Booked through the marathon website for $135 plus tax. Parking was $22 underneath the hotel. Had a nice riverview on the 16th floor (of 17). Comfortable beds. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a downtown hotel and especially for those in town for the half or full marathons.

Room Tip: Request a riverview or north-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcityplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
jmcityplanner,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. And congratulations on running the marathon! Being well fed and well rested are two very important things for race day so thank you for allowing us to serve you.

Next time you will have to come and visit Louisville when you don't have a race so you can enjoy all that Bourbon Country has to offer.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    310
    79
    31
    22
See reviews for
113
151
35
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bluegrass state
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a convention. Great rates. Very nice location. Within 2 blocks from fourth street Live. Hard Rock Cafe, GB brewery/restaurant. Several others. A little too far to walk to Louisville Slugger museum, Frazier museum. The rooms were very clean.
Loved the toiletries. Small frig in rooms made bringing breakfast food nice. There are two restaurants in the hotel. Did not try either. Nice Starbucks inside also for a quick pastry & coffee. Would stay here again.
Tip: try the Mayan cafe. Derby museum. There is a tourist book in rooms itch coupons for several local attractions & restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank phislamajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed while in town for a cardinals game and it had great proximity to the yum center and fourth street. Pricing was great too and I think they have surpassed hyatt as our new favorite pall to stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1979Charlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
1979Charlee,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and kind words.

Our hotel is only steps from the Yum! Center and 4th Street as you mentioned. Please come back and see us again soon!

Take care,
Eamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I totally agree with the review from "Pricey". The hotel was great, as far as the room. It was beautifully decorated and clean. After paying over 300.00 for a one night stay, I was not going to pay an additional 14.95 to access their internet. That is a ridiculous fee. I can stay in a cheap 80-100 dollar hotel and receive free Wi-Fi access.
Also, there is an additional fee for breakfast, 14.00 for a basket of muffins and a pot of coffee. Again, a cheaper hotel provides a continental breakfast free of charge.
This is a world where you get what you pay for. Not at the Marriott in Downtown Louisville, you pay a lot and get nothing. I will not stay at this hotel again, simply on the principal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Heather,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback on your recent stay over Thunder weekend. I understand your frustration about the WiFi charge at the hotel. Currently Marriott full service hotels do charge for internet access, however we are continuously looking at ways to enhance our guest experience and we will continue to look at this charge.
Regarding the muffins and coffee, we do offer room service and Blu for breakfast as well as a Starbucks option in our lobby for your convenience in an effort to have multiple price points for all of our guests.

If you would reach out to me personally on your next trip to Louisville I will be more than happy to discuss your accommodations to improve your stay with us. My email is eamon.obrien@marriottlouisville.com.

Thank you,
Eamon O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Kentucky, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I just stayed here last weekend and we always stay here for our anniversary. Best hotel and friendliest I have ever stayed at in Louisville. Location is great and right in the center of downtown Louisville, I will be here my next trip to Louisville.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and clean; however, in this day and age of free wi-fi I was extremely put off by having to pay $14.95 a day for internet. So much for chilling in the room and watching Netflix! The room service was also very expensive, as was the restaurant downstairs. I enjoyed the Starbucks in the lobby.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the river front side, great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

On entering the hotel we were greeted warmly by the staff. This happened every time we walked into the hotel during our three day stay. The location is great, easy walking distance to most attractions we had time to see. We ate at the two restaurants in the hotel and enjoyed our meals. Two blocks away there is a wide variety of restaurants and coffee shops to choose from. We attended a wedding at the hotel during our stay and it was very well done. Meal was excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: We did not notice any recycle containers in the room.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tranur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 96 in Louisville
1,339 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 96 in Louisville
1,886 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 96 in Louisville
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 96 in Louisville
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Property: Louisville Marriott Downtown
Address: 280 West Jefferson, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Louisville Marriott Downtown is an ideally located hotel in Louisville, KY - situated in the heart of the city connected to Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk. Our hotel is near many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at our 4-star hotel in Louisville enjoy many luxurious amenities including an on-site Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. For delicious onsite dining options, try Blu Italian Grille. To start your day, you can enjoy a signature Starbucks Coffee at Louisville Marriott Downtown. Choose Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country in Kentucky! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing