We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice size room and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louisville Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice size room and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our room was very clean and large, bathroom was nice but my roommate had to sleep on a cot that was brought into the room since the organization we were with had just asked for deluxe rooms and the hotel did not have any rooms left with two beds, we were told, even after talking to a manager. The front desk was apologetic but I had made reservations two months prior but have since taken this up with the organization I was with during the conference...not the hotel's fault. The parking garage was handy and not real full, easy to navigate in/out of with easy in-out privileges at a discount since we took up most of the hotel. I did try out one of their two restaurants while there, Champions Sports Bar & Grille. The other restaurant was more for dining, BLU Italian Grille which I did not get a chance to try. However, I was not at all impressed with Champions. I could not believe it was a Marriott property. It looked dirty and our server did not seem that personable. I almost could not eat my lunch because of the underlying taste. It was served after a long wait.

Room Tip: Get 7th floor or higher, city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynYork_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    295
    67
    31
    17
See reviews for
101
138
34
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a great Marriott in the center of downtown Louisville. It is well appointed and has many amenities. I came to Louisville on business travel -- my first stop was San Diego --- I was surprised that my hotel room was more expensive in Louisville then in San Diego and I stayed at a "luxury" collection hotel while in SD. Not sure why the price was high -- but still a good property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishupfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely amazing. The staff was very kind and knowledgeable about all of the events that were occurring with in their building. The food was excellent and the hotel is located within walking distance from a variety of attractions. I will definitely stay here every time I come to Louisville!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Manager at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Sarah;

Thank you for your 5-star review on Trip-Advisor. We strive to provide great customer service, and it nice to see when that is recognized by our guests.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Louisville. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance with future stays.

David Rowland
Director of Food and Beverage
502-671-4280
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a "nice" hotel, in that the lobby and rooms are nice, but I expect more from a Marriott.
1) I'm allergic to feathers (as it says in my Marriott "profile"). I've been told only the pillows in the room have real feathers so I always ask for a foam pillow. Every time I've stayed at this hotel my profile is ignored and I have to ask many times before getting the foam pillow. And as it turns out, the rest of the bed must actually have real feathers because I've had bad allergic reaction and got no sleep.

2). The toilet in my room was broken (broken chain on the flusher). I had to ask the front desk twice to send maintenance.

3). When I turned on the faucet the hardware came off in my hand.
It seems the cheap route was taken when the bathrooms were being assembled.

Overall customer service is decent--but not great.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I really enjoy staying here. The rooms are newer and clean. The staff is very nice. The gentleman making omletts for the brunch is the best, he really loves cooking and it shows. Plus he makes a great omlette.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Manager at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dr. Gary;

Many thanks for the great review. We have shared your praise with Michael our omelet chef, and the rest of our team here at the Marriott.

Thank you for being one of our most loyal guests. Hopefully we see you again soon.

David Rowland
Director of Food and Beverage
Louisville Marriott Downtown
502-671-4280
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Used some of my Marriott points to stay here. Normally we stay at the Courtyard down the street. Arrived on a Sunday afternoon and left the car with the valet. My husband asked if he could use a cart to bring our items to the room. Checked in and were in the room for only a few minutes and there was a knock at the door. The bellhop had followed us up and wanted to take care of our luggage. This was a little annoying. Had we wanted him to bring it up we would have asked. My husband made him wait in the hall while he finished checking out the room and unloading the cart. (We had many breakable items and wanted to move them about ourselves.) When he came into the room to get the cart he was asking strange questions like "want me to get you ice? want me to open your curtains? want me to turn down your bed?" I have never been asked questions like this before. My husband basically tipped him to get him to leave since it was clear he was attempting to do something to earn one.

I gave this review a "very good" because the room was fantastic. It was pretty quiet in the hotel, so there wasn't much noise. Spent some time in the Bar at Blu for a few bourbons, which they have a fantastic selection for. Even took one back to our room for a nightcap. The hotel is close to everything downtown and there were many options for food and drink.

The next morning we had to leave early so my husband went down and got a cart from the valet and told him we did not need help while he got the car. When we came down to load the car, both guys out front were a little put out that we didn't want them to load our car. So my husband gave them a large tip for getting the car and basically for not touching our stuff. Some people don't want bellhop service, but this hotel doesn't seem to give you that option.

While the hotel was fantastic, and the employees were all courteous and helpful, next time I will go back down to the Courtyard where I have the options to self-park and take care of my own luggage.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burkehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Outstanding hotel that appears to be recently remodeled. The beds are nice and the staff was always available to help and always near by. Even the restaurant food was good and reasonably priced. I highly recommend this hotel and intend to stay there again in the summer when I return to Louisville.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationeragain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,678 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#6 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Property: Louisville Marriott Downtown
Address: 280 West Jefferson, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Louisville Marriott Downtown is ideally located in the heart of Louisville, connected to the Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk, and is nearby many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the KFC YUM! Center, the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at this 4-star hotel enjoy the luxurious amenities including an onsite Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are onsite for delicious dining options for dinner, or start your day off with a signature Starbucks Coffee. Choose the Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing