We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Louisville Staff is Awesome! Hotel is clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Marriott Louisville Staff is Awesome! Hotel is clean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently visited the Marriott in Louisville. This is our second time to stay at the hotel for a short weekend getaway. We requested a king room with riverview and a rollaway bed for our 9 yr old.After the front desk gave us our keys and we headed up to our room, the manager stopped us and nicely upgraded us to a 1 bedroom corner room suite. The room was top notch and very clean! The manager said a rollaway in the rooms they had available would be cramped and he thought the suite would be better suited for us. We also have a 12 week old baby. It made our stay relaxing and more enjoyable. I would def. recommend that you stay here. Lots of great activitiesand dining within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymcihelle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you had an awesome stay with us and that our staff was able to impact your experience in such a positive way. We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    296
    70
    31
    17
See reviews for
103
140
35
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was attending a convention and made my reservation for the Marriott 2 months prior to arrival. I had a Marriott Confirmed Reservation for a King room but, upon check-in, was told that the request for the King bed didn't show up on their computer! Moreover, they were booked and only had 2 queen rooms left. That would not work! After 10 minutes with the manager I finally was offered a Handicapped Accessible King room along with complimentary Wi-Fi for the 4-night stay (which was a $60 value).

The room was the first room down the hallway from the elevators, but noise was not a problem for us. The bed was comfortable. The room was spotless. The shower head had great water pressure (always a plus in my book!). Access to the Convention Center was quick and easy via the Skywalk connected to the hotel. We even took in a Friday night Louisville Bats AAA baseball game and enjoyed a nice walk to and from the ballpark (about 6 blocks away).

Had it not been for the reservation not being honored this would be a five-star review. I would definitely recommend the Downtown Marriott to other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amason61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apolgize for the system clitch that prevented us from being aware of your bed choice but we are happy that we were able to come up with a suitable solution and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is located in walking distance of the Yum Center, the river, fourth street promenade and many fantastic restaurants. Great rooms, clean, cool, and the people are SO friendly! Real southern hospitality. The bar is inviting and although I did not eat at the restaurant BluGill, it looked good and did get some good reviews. They have a Starbucks in the lobby as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed the southern hospitality of the team here and we will be sure to share your comments with them. We also are happy that you were able to get out and see the sights and enjoyed our central location to these. Thank you again for making us your hotel of choice.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed here on business and though it's a nice, very clean place, it's rather pricey and they nickel & dime you for silly things, like internet & parking. Internet is $15 a day and self-parking is $22 a day. There's no breakfast included and breakfast isn't not cheap downstairs.
If your company is picking up the tab, I say it's a great place, but it if you're paying out of your own pocket and don't want to get fleeced, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the weekend and did note your comment on some of the additional charges. We do offer some packages on the weekends that include both parking discounts and complimentary internet so check for these on your return to Louisville. They may not be available on special event weekends but are on most others.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Hotel Is centrally located and close to everything. The staff was accommodating and the rooms were just average. For 260 a night I expected a better room. But no biggie they were clean and Location is great. If you do not want to valet park for 26 bucks a night the lot right behind the hotel is 10 bucks for 24 hours ... Prob will be back next year

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RastaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us for this year's Forecastle Event. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your weekend in Louisville. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were in town for the Forecastle music festival. They actually let us check in a couple hours early which allowed us to rest before the concert. Very nicely furnished room, bed was a little soft for my taste but clean fresh linens and a spotless bathroom with good hot water and pressure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluto_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during this year's Forecastle Festival. The weather could not have been better and we are pleased you had a great stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I accidently booked reservations to the Marriott East, instead of the Marriott Downtown during a recent trip to Louisville to attend the Forecastle Music Festival. I discovered my mistake after making the 8 hour drive to Louisville. I was extremely worried I would not be able to change hotels, but the Marriott call center took care of cancelling my reservation at the Marriott East & set me up with a hotel room at the Marriott Downtown. The Marriott Downtown desk staff was extremely friendly about my mistake all the while dealing with the huge influx of festival goers. Our room was very tidy & had tons of plug-ins for charging up your phone & tablets, etc., which is a must for me. The two restaurants, a Starbucks & a convienence store all located in the lobby of the hotel were also wonderful perks. I would definitely recommend staying at the Marriott Downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the feedback. I am glad our team was able to accomodate you when you mistakenly booked the wrong hotel. Come back and see us again.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Property: Louisville Marriott Downtown
Address: 280 West Jefferson, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Louisville Marriott Downtown is an ideally located hotel in Louisville, KY - situated in the heart of the city connected to Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk. Our hotel is near many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at our 4-star hotel in Louisville enjoy many luxurious amenities including an on-site Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are on-site as well for delicious dining options for dinner. To start your day, you can enjoy a signature Starbucks Coffee at Louisville Marriott Downtown. Choose Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country in Kentucky! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing