We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious rooms...excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious rooms...excellent customer service”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip; the hotel hosted the conference for four days. The hotel has a beautiful lobby and makes a great first impression when you walk in. The customer service and attention to detail is exceptional at this hotel. I ordered room service one evening and it was delivered in a very timely fashion with good quality food. The rooms are spacious and very clean - housekeeping does a fantastic job. The beds are super comfortable with plenty of pillows and soft sheets. The bathroom is large and very clean; with more than enough towels. The Marriott catered our conference and the food was very good all around. Overall - I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The customer service is really what stood out for me - employees went out of their way to make sure every aspect of your stay was to the way you wanted it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubagal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful comments from your stay. We appreciate the detailed feedback about the excellent customer service you experienced from our team. I will especially share your comments on the cleanliness of the guestroom with our housekeeping team.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    308
    76
    31
    20
See reviews for
109
149
35
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Spent an excellent weekend there with my wife and friends. The hotel is very clean and the employees were very friendly and helpful. Excellent place to visit. The hotel is close to the entertainment district and the concierge was very instrumental in helping us find all the locations we wanted to visit. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnW121554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great comments from your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the conveniant location to the restaurants and downtown attractions and that you found our concierge team very helpful in assisting you with planning your free time.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here for a conference a few weeks ago and was very pleased with just about everything. Upon entering the lobby I noticed how settling the mood was. Very soothing. The room was outstanding and the view of downtown Louisville was incredible.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing comments from your recent stay during your conference at the hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the renovated guestrooms and the welcome in the hotel lobby by the team. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here over Kentucky Derby weekend. The staff is great, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Two (2) on site restaurants with good food. Gym is better than most hotel "gyms" and the stainless steel pool is nice. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaseballMom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments from your stay with us over the Kentucky Derby. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the renovated guestrooms and fitness center and that you had time to visit the restaurants on site. Please come back and see us soon.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Mariott on Derby Weekend they were well staffed and very attentive. Upon arrival they had a sea of people directing us and answering any questions we had. Check in was very quick (it was late in the day on Friday).
It was raining on Derby Day so the staff excorted us to our busses with umbrellas so that we wouldn't get soaked.
The rooms were very clean and beds were very comfortable.
Very nice property and in the heart of Louisivlle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you had a great Kentucky Derby Experience as our guest and enjoyed the many service touchpoints delivered by our team throughout this special event. We hope you had luck at the track and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Louisville Downtown this past weekend because it was the host hotel for the Derby Marathon and the rate offered to runners was really good for a downtown hotel. It was located close to the race start/finish and was bustling all weekend with runners; however, our room on the 14th floor was quiet as can be. We reserved a double-double room, but requested a king room at check in and Jeffrey (I think that was his name) graciously accommodated us. He did warn us that, in addition to runners, there was also a large bachelorette party staying at the hotel and there could be some noise if they were on our floor. They must have been elsewhere, because we had zero issues with noise all weekend.

The room itself was spacious and the bed was really comfortable. The bathroom was big enough, but there wasn't much water pressure at all. Housekeeping was good, although they were busy! We overlooked the KFC Yum Center and the skyline in 1437.

Concierge staff were helpful at recommending some Italian restaurants for pre-race carbs and bourbon distilleries to tour after the race.

We somehow got wi-fi in the room complimentary. Not sure if that was part of the race package, but it as appreciated!

Blu, the restaurant in the lobby, had a breakfast buffet that was tastier than I was expecting and had a plethora of food options, including lots of fruit and made-to-order omelets. Servers were really friendly both days.

The one drawback was parking at $22/night for self parking. However, we were in a downtown hotel and had received the discounted race rate, so we did expect that. We paid for the convenience of being close to the race.

Would stay at the Marriott again on our next visit to Louisville!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiscDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for joining us for the Derby Marathon weekend. We are pleased you enjoyed the conveniance of the hotel to the start and finish and the staff service. We hope you had a great run on race day and come back and see us next year.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is great and has a feel of being newly remodeled. It has a Starbucks in the lobby and free wi-fi in the lobby. The staff was great, the rooms were great, and check in for our large team was easy. They prepared a team meal for us that was perfect and did everything to be accomodating to our group. Couldn't say enough great things about this staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiesim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the great feedback, we are happy that you and your team enjoyed the renovated guestrooms and the staff hospitality. We pride ourselves on being a sports friendly property and we are pleased that your team enjoyed their time with us. Come back and see us the next time your competition schedule brings you back to Louisville.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
1,318 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
1,853 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#28 of 95 in Louisville
3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Property: Louisville Marriott Downtown
Address: 280 West Jefferson, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Louisville Marriott Downtown is an ideally located hotel in Louisville, KY - situated in the heart of the city connected to Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk. Our hotel is near many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at our 4-star hotel in Louisville enjoy many luxurious amenities including an on-site Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are on-site as well for delicious dining options for dinner. To start your day, you can enjoy a signature Starbucks Coffee at Louisville Marriott Downtown. Choose Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country in Kentucky! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing