We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't take requests unless you mean it.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louisville Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't take requests unless you mean it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was in town with a conference at the hotel recently and decided to bring my family along. We wanted enough space for the kids so I requested connecting rooms. I knew I was coming in late for check in so I called that morning to again confirm that our connecting rooms were available. I was told that they were and we were all set for that night. Upon check-in I was told our rooms were next to each other but not connecting and there was nothing they could do that night but if I stopped by the desk in the morning they could fix it. So we understood that things happen and split our family for the night. The next morning I was told that there was no fix so I canceled on of the rooms and we all piled into one. I later learned from others at my conference that there were connecting rooms available for the dates I booked, the hotel staff just filled them with other people booking single rooms earlier in the day. I understand it may be difficult to accommodate everyones request but IF YOU CAN NOT TRACK A REQUEST, DON'T PRETEND TO TAKE A REQUEST.
I was told that as connecting rooms were a request and not guaranteed they would not make any accommodation to the rate for the second room that I would not have kept if I was not told they could fix it. I finally asked if they would be willing to give some Marriott points to me for my trouble. I was told "Yes we can throw some of those at you". I did not get any points.

We also had several occasions that house keeping staff failed to clean up thoroughly and I felt the beds were not comfortable (perhaps because the kids joined us)

Despite our accommodations, we had a great time in Louisville and the hotel location was great but given the chance to book a different nearby hotel, I would recommend against the Marriott Downtown.

Room Tip: Do not expect special request to be honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that we were not able to accomdate your request for the connecting rooms and did not do a good job of handling the situation at check in to resolve the issue to your satisfaction. I have forwarded your email to our Resident Manager to address as a training opportunity with our front office team. We do appreciate the time you took to share your comments with us and look forward to an opportunity to provide an exceptional experience the next time we can host you.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    295
    68
    31
    17
See reviews for
101
138
34
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

great trip in feb ,not much in the area but hotel was faultless with nice room and staff.
work being done on the floor with pool but used both with no problem .bar next door was ok but is a sports bar .i found the staff very helpful and polite would have no problem staying there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonferful commentary from your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoed the beds and your overall stay. We finished the renovation of the healthclub and pool area shortly after your stay and look forward to your comments on the finished product when you have the opoprtunit to stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My hotel experience here was top notch. Room, fantastic. Starbucks and two restaurants in the lobby, fantastic. Concierge lounge with snacks, fantastic. Great property. Professional staff. You will be satisfied with this hotel choice. Great location too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BEW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the excellent commentary on your recent stay. It is the service experience we strive to deliver for each guest and I will share your accolades with our team here at the hotel. Please come and see us again.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a high quality Marriott. Clean rooms, super friendly staff, nice pool and spa area, Starbucks in the lobby, clean - good size gym. The whole family was happy! We ate a local restaurants, so only had the breakfast buffet at the restaurant one time. It was a little pricey but had a nice selection. No microwave in the room was a bit of a bummer for a week long stay. We had to forfeit all of our leftovers.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lb2010Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and especially the renovated guest rooms. I will share your comments about the friendly staff with our entire team and we look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal City, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for a conference March 7th through 10th. The rooms were very comfortable and kept scrupulously clean. Everything was just as I would expect from a hotel of this level. However where this hotel stood out was the friendly and courteous staff. They exemplified 'southern hospitality' at it's finest. Many went over and above to help me see as much of their city, in the short amount of free time I had, as possible. They had great options for me as far as tours and local favorite restaurants. In house, the dining staff went out of their way to introduce a nervous northerner to the way traditional grits would be served. Who knew at fifty something I would discover I loved them? I took home many fond memories of my stay in Louisville, and am planning another trip there with my husband for pleasure next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjpabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind comments about your recent service experience at our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and will share your comments with our team.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I spent the night at the Marriott Louisville Downtown on May 27 and have found my new favorite hotel in the Louisville area. This is a great hotel, much larger than expected, and features a restaurant, sports bar and Starbucks in the lobby. The interior design and materials are all top-notch. The hallways are well lit, there are plenty of electrical outlets in the room, and the personal care products were all top-quality. My room was large, clean and quiet. The elevators were fast and the valet service was very good. The chocolates on the bed were a nice touch, too.

The location is convenient to the convention center and a short walk from the restaurants and nightclubs along 4th Street. (Although 4th Street is looking more and more like it's on its last legs. The closure of The Pub is a loss and most of the establishments I passed looked empty.) In the morning, the drive to the airport was mercifully brief -- I was at the rental car lot within 20 minutes of rolling away from the valet stand.

My only complaint -- and it continues to be a complaint at large chain hotels near convention centers and airports -- is the WiFi fee. If you want to charge for your WiFi, stop the nickel-and-dime game and just add it to the room cost! Most of us are going to need to use email or surf the 'Net while we've got some down time. Don't make us feel like you're offering some kind of exclusive, premium service only available at your hotel. We're captives in the room and you're using Internet access to squeeze another $14.95 out of our expense accounts. That's weak sauce, Marriott -- your customers deserve the same free WiFi offered at lesser establishments.

Room Tip: Only stayed one night, but try to get a room near the elevator if you're prone to over-sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muttley1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with us last week. We are glad you enjoyed the hotels newly renovated guestrooms and the hotel outlets. We too are disappointed that the Pub on 4th Street closed but we have learned that there a number of new restaurants opening up later in the spring in that area to compliment the 25 new restaurants that have opened up on the Main Street corridor. We also noted your comment on the Wi-Fi cost and we do offer some packages on the weekends and mid week that will include this option. Thanks again for taking the time to comment and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed in several hotels over the last few years in downtown Louisville and must admit that this hotel is great. And very, very close to 4th Street Live entertainment district. The folks were great at the hotel and felt very comfortable. Of course not all can be great so here is my one problems. The parking. I elected self-park and since I was there for a business meeting and there were several others groups meeting self-park was at a premium. The parking is below the hotel and I did find a spot along side one of the up ramps coming from the 3rd level. The first level is for valet parking so valet parking might not be a bad idea. But if coming in on a weekend you should not have any problems. Again..great hotel and a great location.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are excited to hear after sampling the Louisville Hotel scene that the Louisville Marriott has earned the distincation as your hotel of choice. We are thrilled at the newly renovated guestrooms but have also invested a great deal of enery into our service delivery to compliment the new rooms and we are happy that you were able to experience that. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,681 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#6 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Property: Louisville Marriott Downtown
Address: 280 West Jefferson, Louisville, KY 40202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Louisville Marriott Downtown is ideally located in the heart of Louisville, connected to the Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk, and is nearby many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the KFC YUM! Center, the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at this 4-star hotel enjoy the luxurious amenities including an onsite Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are onsite for delicious dining options for dinner, or start your day off with a signature Starbucks Coffee. Choose the Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing