We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louisville Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
141 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Location and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

I just spent two nights at the Marriott Downtown Louisville. This is a business and convention hotel, so it was basically empty. In fact, the MOD (Manager on Duty) said that their occupancy rate was on 16% for the night. The hotel is downtown and parking is near by or you can have your car valet for $18.00 per day. The hotel is about six blocks from the Interstate and within walking distance to many excellent restaurants.

The hotel has 17 floors with the club level being on the 16th floor. The hotel is always nicely decorated and they have a full-service restaurant, and lobby bar and a sports restaurant within the building. I have stayed at this hotel at least 30 times over the past couple of years and it seems there is a great deal of turn over at the front desk. Check in went smoothly. However, I had called ahead and asked for an upgrade to a suite on the club level and was told that the suite had been blocked off for me. However, when I arrived I was placed on the 5th floor.

This hotel is downtown and from the 5th floor you can hear the street noise. However, the rooms are comfortable, with great mattresses and pillows. I did have to ask twice to have my room cleaned, but these are minor issues. The hotel staff was very helpful with information, and was very friendly. So, if you have business in Louisville near the airport or downtown; the Marriott is an excellent choice for a hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLJ021251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    285
    67
    29
    18
See reviews for
97
134
33
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradfordwoods, PA
Level Contributor
188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed at the Marriott in downtown Louisville for 2 nights while in town for a weekend wedding. This hotel met all of our expectations for a Marriott. Our room was quiet and very comfortable. My only complaint is that the pillows were small and there were just 3 of them (for 2 people in a king size bed). Smaller pillows seems to be the trend with many hotels now but I would much prefer normal size or king size for a king size bed. Also did not like the sign indicating bed linens are only changed every 3rd day unless you request it daily by putting the sign on the bed. Part of the pleasure of staying in a Marriott quality hotel is the freshness daily freshness of the bed so putting the onus on the guest to request clean sheets was not appreciated. But I give the hotel 4 stars simply because of its comfort, which is the most important thing for me.

We parked in an open public lot behind the hotel for $10 per day. The concierge was very helpful with maps and suggestions for tourist attractions. The price was very reasonable, at around $120 per night. Wireless internet is supposed to be billed at $12.95 per day, which seemed excessive, but I got around this fee by asking what the wireless code was in the business center (so I could use my iPad) and found the code worked in the rooms as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

My room at the Marriott had a lovely view of the city from the 9th floor. Room service had a couple of decent vegetarian options (for Louisville), which were served with a smile. It's a small city anyway, but the hotel is within walking distance from the main eating and business areas. The bathroom was quite large.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay. Rooms were modern and clean. Had two issues with my roo
That was quickly taken care of. Everyone was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffdparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit and we are pleased that you had a great stay. We will share your comments with our associates and we look forward to your return trips to Louisville and the Marriott Downtown.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

If you got some "spare change" to help with the costs of paying for things in the hotel, then this is the spot for you. Parking lots exist on-site and surrounding area, but all will cost you. There is a restaurant in the lobby that is not too expensive, but it's not cheap either. It's a cozy place that has good food and TVs to watch games and other events.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deez729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments on your recent stay and we look forward to seeing you back with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

I've stayed at both the Hyatt and the Galt House, and this is my new favorite. Quite honestly, I hated the others, but this hotel seems new and up to par for what you'd expect at an average downtown Marriott.

Valet parking and check-in were a breeze. The room was fine. Clean, and comfortable.

The only negative about this visit was their television offerings. They have these wonderful HDTVs, but they pump an awful standard definition signal through them. It's sad. I've come to expect at least ESPN and ESPN2 HD, even an HBO and some of the over the air network local affiliates in HD, but no joy here at the Marriott.

Otherwise the staff were friendly, the valets were quick, and once popping the low flow head off the shower the hotel was comfortable.

The view from my room was nothing special. A rooftop and some gloomy views of the convention center. Guess you have to request a high floor.

Room Tip: Low floor views are poor...ask for a good view if that's your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntegrityTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share comments from your stay and we love that we have become your hotel of choice in Louisville. With regard to your comments on the HD programing, the 42 inch flat panel televsions were installed over the summer and the new HD programing that is currently missing will be installed begining on 12/5/11 and will be complete by year end. We look forward to having you back soon to experience the new upgraded programing. Thank you again for the great comments and I will share these with our hotel team.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Don't get me wrong, this a beautiful hotel right in the heart of the city but they charge you for everything. $13 per day for wireless in your hotel room (free in the lobby), $21 per 24 hours for parking on site, and breakfast was $16 for the all you can eat buffet which was the only good value as it included unlimited juice and coffee. For example, if you ordered the $12 breakfast sandwich plus juice and coffee as separate items your bill would be $20!! As for the rooms, again they were lovely to look at but we got a double - 2 queen beds as we were there for basic Army Graduation and our son would be with us for the weekend but if that was a queen then we are giants!! The beds were so small my husband actually slept on the chair. They were sold as 2 queens but actually we think they were full size. There was no buffer between your room door and the hallway and you heard every conversation and every door slam.
All in all for the price and all the extras you had to pay for you should think twice. The Comfort Inn closer to Ft Knox although no frills had free wi-fi and the double rooms actually had 2 queen size beds in them. We stayed there for final graduation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank portchygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share feedback from your stay earlier in the year. I am disappointed that while you enjoyed the hotel, you also felt that there were too many additional charges. We do offer a number of hotel packages that include many of these amenities and offer great value. These packages are available on most weekends and also in times of slow demand. I will share your comments with our staff and once again appreciate your wllingness to share feedback from your past stay.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#13 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#21 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#4 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Property: Louisville Marriott Downtown
Address: 280 W Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1432
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Louisville Marriott Downtown is ideally located in the heart of Louisville, connected to the Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk, and is nearby many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the KFC YUM! Center, the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at this 4-star hotel enjoy the luxurious amenities including an onsite Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are onsite for delicious dining options for dinner, or start your day off with a signature Starbucks Coffee. Choose the Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing