We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Louisville
Southeast
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were only there one night and needed to leave very early for the airport. The young lady (sorry I didn't catch her name) at the desk on the evening shift when we checked in was extremely helpful. She suggested we use the motel's long term parking area and shuttle to the airport. We were really glad we did this. Steffen helped us park our car and drove us to the airport and deposited us exactly at our airline's luggage check in. He was friendly and efficient. We were glad to see he was also the one to pick us up when we arrived back a week later. We called from the airport and he was there almost immediately. He handled our luggage with care. Steffen is a great asset to this motel.
The room was clean and comfortable. Although the motel is near the airport, noise was not a prolblem. We may not have been there long but we had no complaints. We will gladly choose to use this motel again, especially with the airport shuttle convenience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisuretraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    67
    76
    78
    71
See reviews for
93
69
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at Howard Johnson Express for the Forecastle Festival July 11-14, 2013. I was solo so I didn't want to spend $100+ night, so I booked this hotel for $55/night. Also, since I booked 3 nights, they automatically discounted it 20%! So I basically paid $44/night. I booked through the hotels website, but pretty sure I found this hotel through Kayak.com

Anyway, the room itself was nice. The bed was comfy. TV and Internet worked fine. From what I remember the room was quiet as well. Shower water was hot and the soap dispenser was nice.

The only thing that I noticed was the main/common areas were kind of run down... and had a musty smell. You could tell that some of the rooms were smoking rooms by being in the hallway, however, my room did not smell and was perfect for what I needed it for. My friend stayed with me for the last night, and I warned her about the musty smell, but she was pleasantly surprised with the room as well.

All in all, if you are going to Louisville and don't need anything fancy, I'd definitely recommend this hotel! It's a great deal!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kacykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is my second time staying at this location. The inside is rather dated and the carpets could be cleaner. However, the location, friendly staff, and stay and park benefits truly outweigh the negatives. Our room was freshly painted and clean. Don't expect to pay $75/night and stay in a high-end room. If you plan on flying out of SDF and parking your car at the airport for any length of time check this place out!

Room Tip: You are close to the airport so expect to hear the airplanes in the distance. This did not interfere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgias944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is: cost, proximity to KY Expo Center and the firmness of the bed. Staff are nice, but not friendly. Breakfast: toast/ danish/ cereal/ apples & bananas/ coffee /juice - however, fruit is not always available and coffee gave out quickly. When you stepped off the elevator, the heat from the hallway could knock you over. Carpeting in hallway was very dirty. Hairdryer "on" button would not stay on. I had to hold it down (this is on the wall) while trying to brush & dry my hair one-handed. We stayed 4 nights of which only 3 was the room cleaned for us. Towels were thread bare. Appears the owners want to do very little with the property in order to save money.

Room Tip: Most of the 3rd floor rooms had issues with them. Tried several before getting stuck in 310. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Make your own decision just as I did after reading te reviews, and decide whether or not it's worth the chance. It certainly was not for me! The appliances all worked fine. However, after the 3 hairs I found under the comforter, and the substance still found stuck to a bathroom hand towel, I decided that this place wasn't very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimjoemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Louisville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
South Side
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#72 of 96 in Louisville
405 reviews
South Side
Courtyard Louisville Airport
Courtyard Louisville Airport
#44 of 96 in Louisville
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
South Side
Sleep Inn Louisville Airport & Expo
Fairgrounds
SpringHill Suites Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport
Address: 709 Phillips Ln, I-65 Exit 13B, Louisville, KY 40209-1327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 96 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport Hotel Louisville
Howard Johnson Louisville
Louisville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing