We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport
Ranked #80 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for a conference @ the KEC for week. It was not the poshest place; however, it closr and clean. Tje staff eas exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Great place to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar D, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay while traveling to the Louisville area. Thank you as well for your kind words regarding our staff. We strive to provide outstanding service to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 341 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

Don't know what rooms others stayed in. Our room was fine for a budget hotel. This room was smoking. Did not smell bad. Everything worked. You will have to drive to find a place to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirt2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

There are better selections of hotels right in the area. the shower kept going from cold to hot without warning...there was hair in the sink counter from the last tenant. I use a wheelchair and made me park on the grass near the road. Not enough parking. Rooms are outdated. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zepphead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The room we stayed in was dreary with an old smell to it. The carpet felt stiff and I felt like I needed to keep my shoes on, just couldn't stand the feel of it. When I booked the room online I was told that there was a small frig and a microwave. there was neither, a big disappointment due to the fact that there were no stores or resturaunts within walking distance and my daughter and I were to be there for two days. I called down to the lobby and was told that they did not advertise that they had those ammenities, that the travel site just said those things to make sales. Lesson learned.... The young girl who worked nights (by herself ) was very jumpy ... she was scared actually . When I went searching for ice on each of the 3 floors to not find one working machine the desk clerk asked me and another of the tennants to please not leave the back door proped open that she was afraid that she would either get robbed,raped or both due to the people walking around late at night.
I took a couple of tylenol PM which helped me to get to sleep and just tried not to let our stay there ruin our 2 days at the state fair and the Rascal Flatts concert that we had been waiting so long to see.
Would I do it over agan .... No way .... Not There !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleyjane613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

There aren't many positives except the staff was friendly and most helpful...everything else needed attention, the utmost !! Client chose this hotel I will inform them of nastiness. From beginning to end this place needs more then a facelift ! Ice machines didn't work upstairs,nothing was right. If you have a choice stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Plus factor: Room was reasonable in price, close to Expo Center & Airport, microwave & refrigerator worked great & were an added convenience. Didn't try the jacuzzi, so have no opinion on that.. Staff is very friendly & helpful.
Minus factors: No water pressure in tub/shower, only 6 working stations on the TV, if you go out for dinner & get back after 10 p.m. all parking spaces are gone & you have to park at the hotel next door. It is a little dingy & outdated, but the bed was comfortable & it was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisBombom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

This hotel was such a disappointment for me. I've frequented HOJOs in Wisconsin and they weren't bad at all, considering the price range. Initially I was in town to go to a nice romantic secluded cabin about 2 hours south of Louisville. Well got to the cabin and there was a wasps nest on the upper window by the loft and they had got into the cabin. Needless to say couldn't and didn't stay there. So we drove back into the city and needed a decent room, that wasn't too pricey since it was late in the evening.

Well they offered a jacuzzi suite for $99.00. I jumped on it. Got to the location around 10pm...no attendant?? The one attendant also drives the airport shuttle. Waited around and checked in, went to one room and the air was barely working and making a terribly loud noise. Went to attendant to exchange rooms..the next room was quiet, yet just in poor shape. From the outside the hotel seems brand spanking new..yet the rooms seem as if they received old used hotel furniture from another hotel??! The jacuzzi was okay, the bathroom was too, yet the furniture was very undesirable. The lamp shades had stains on it and were all tilted. NOW THE BED, THAT WAS THE WORST BED I'VE EVER SLEPT IN!! I could have just slept in my truck and got a better nights sleep! You could actually feel the mattress springs! I actually got a cut on one of my elbows and a bruise on the other!

It amazes me how they're still open and how Howard Johnson as a hotel chain is allowing this hotel to remain open with their name on it, it's a travesty!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairlady75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
South Side
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#75 of 97 in Louisville
423 reviews
South Side
Sleep Inn Louisville Airport & Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Courtyard Louisville Airport
Courtyard Louisville Airport
#46 of 97 in Louisville
255 reviews
Fairgrounds
Hampton Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport

Address: 709 Phillips Ln, I-65 Exit 13B, Louisville, KY 40209-1327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range: $60 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport Hotel Louisville
Howard Johnson Louisville
Louisville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing