We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California, USA
2 reviews
“will stay there again”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Would give hotel 5* except for the troublesome WIFI and the not-so-tasty hot foods in the AM. Otherwise the facility was wonderfully comfortable, spacious unit, convenient to local restaurants and mall. Free access to health center across street was an added plus. Staff===>could not be any better or more helpful

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOWARDSWalnutCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    182
    73
    13
    7
See reviews for
343
80
40
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

You're going back to your home town for the holidays and your family needs a place to stay for a week. It would be great if everyone was comfortable. That means everyone would like to have breakfast in their PJs. The athletic-minded would like to keep up their exercises. Convenient shopping for family presents and necessities would be nice. All of this defines the Hawthorn Suites in Louisville and my family has stayed here regularly for Thanksgiving week over several years. This year was no exception.

The place is really reasonably priced and offers free breakfast in the morning. Some (not us) come down to eat in their PJs. It's a casual place. Lots of kids are there with parents. There's a light dinner/snack in the evening but we've never been around to try it. However, there's usually an apple or banana to take up to the room for later.

Free in-room and in-lobby WiFi. Good bandwidth.

Large-screen TVs in the rooms. Big tub/shower.

The hotel has an indoor pool but it also has an arrangement with Milestone, a state-of-the-art health club next door. Use is free if you're staying at Hawthorn Suites. This is a huge amenity! They have a snack bar you can eat at, breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

The local suburban malls (Mall at St. Matthews, Oxmoor, and several strip malls) are literally across the street. No shopping problems.

Downsides: Few. The heater/air-conditioning units tend to be loud. If you're noise sensitive and visit at a time of year that you'll need to use heat or cooling, bring earplugs. I need them practically anywhere I go these days, so this hotel is not better or worse than most in this regard.

There's one continuing problem with the breakfast: the daily scrambled eggs are consistently hard and rubbery. We just can't eat them more than a day or two in a row. It's like they don't whip the egg batter to put any air into the mix. Whatever, it's a small nit to pick. On the other hand, the mini cinnamon buns were are treat on Thanksgiving morning! that seemed to be new this year and much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sniersbach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My family has been staying at this hotel every holiday season for the past 4 years, and have never had any issues or complaints. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are large, clean, and well equipped, the facilities are modern and well kept, beds are comfortable, and the free breakfast in the morning is definitely the best you can get for a continental breakfast. The location is great and easy to get to and from, and I like the free gym passes to the place next door. And all of that is very reasonably priced! I wish they were all like this!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sniersbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I visited Louisville this past weekend for a wedding. The hotel itself is above average in quality - rooms are nice and roomy, beds are comfortable. Overall, a good experience. Unfortunately, I left my (rather expensive) pillow there and Hawthorne Suites couldn't have been more accommodating. Excellent, respectful customer service and I really appreciate it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend while in Louisville for a friend's baby shower. We had previously never stayed at a Hawthon and were pleasantly suprised by the service and quality. Overall the decor of the rooms is a bit dated, but the quiet location in St. Matthews, free breakfast, and the overall size of the rooms - Slept 5 in our room thanks to the couch - made this hotel a pretty good place for a family. Also the pool area was very spacious for a suburban hotel of this size.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelgmckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed for 12 nights as part of a family event. The hotel gets high praise on numerous dimensions:
Large, clean, suite-style rooms, with essentially full kitchens if you request
Good bed, pillows, linens, etc
An outstanding health club with free access (across the street) - - truly a top-tier workout facility
Quiet location (the flip side being that you need to drive places, but that's true almost everywhere in Louisville)
Incredibly friendly and accommodating staff

The few "cons" would be: only one elevator that occasionally gets peak-time delays (but we took the stairs anyway); and an average breakfast (although it is large and free, and certainly good enough).

I've stayed in Aman Resorts and I've slept in hostels, and seen a lot of hotels in between. This one goes to the top of the list in terms of value and pleasantness of stay.

Room Tip: Rooms range from microwave / coffeemakers, to half kitchens, to full kitchens. If you need a full k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

While our daughter was attending a conference in Louisville, Kentucky we came along to stay with our grand daughter. We could not have asked for a better hotel to stay in. We had a suite with a nice size living area, apartment size kitchen with full fridge, dishwasher, dishes, glasses and everything one would need for an extended stay. The bedroom was large with a nice size closet. The bathroom was also a good size. All was clean and we felt right at home. The ride into downtown Louisville took about 15 minutes. Even with the traffic during rush hour was not bad. If "hanging out" like we were there are two malls with in two miles.
The staff were all very nice. The pool was great as was the breakfast each morning. They offered an hors d'oeuvres hour from 5-7PM. I must say that was sad, but not enough to deter us from this place. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rather than booking online, I called a spoke to the front desk and asked for the best rate I could g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlcnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger_F39604, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East, responded to this review, February 26, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
East Louisville
Drury Inn & Suites Louisville North
Louisville Marriott East
#3 of 95 in Louisville
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
Address: 751 Cypress Station Dr, Louisville, KY 40207-5153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Louisville
#5 Best Value Hotel in Louisville
#10 Business Hotel in Louisville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Louisville East Hotel Louisville
Hawthorn Suites Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing