We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza - Good Beer - Spotty Service”

BoomBozz Pizza & Taphouse Westport Village
Ranked #268 of 1,785 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Voted best pizza in America, Boombozz Taphouse Westport Village offers a relaxed, upbeat dining area with 15 plasma screens, a cutting edge sound system playing 70's, 80's and contemporary hits, and a bar boasting 20 craft beer handles with a handful of taps pouring locally produced brews. We combine the great taste of BoomBozz Famous Gourmet Pizza with a pub-style atmosphere where someone can sit and enjoy the taste of a great, cold, delicious beer.
The Ville - The Best College Sports Town in America
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Pizza - Good Beer - Spotty Service”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

BoomBozz is a fun place to go and have dinner with your family or your buddies to watch a game. Great pizza and good choices in draft beer and wine selection. However, not sure what is going on with the service....sometimes it is good other times it is not. It doesn't seem to matter how busy the restaurant is. Hopefully the management is going to get this corrected!

When the weather is nice, take advantage of the al fresco dining!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ross_in_Louisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Is the staff still in training?”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Really???? I wish I would have read some reviews before I visited. The service was awful! We were seated and sat there for a good 10 minutes before we were waited on. When we ordered, our waitress Candace again took forever bringing our food. While we were waiting, another male waiter grabbed another person there visting (obviously one of his friends), brought him to our table and proceeded to tell this young man that if he got out of line, we (as in my husband and I) would take care of him. Totally uncomforable as we had no idea who either of them were. Very unprofessional! We were there to have a nice evening out however, this waiter seemed fit to disturb us with his childish, unprofessional games. Not a good reflection of this establishment. As for our waitress, she just seemed disinterested and for the most part, so did the rest of the staff in our observance. Although the food was delicious, we will not be back to visit this particular Boombozz. Grow up for crying out loud!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phynna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Average food and poor service.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Maybe I ordered the wrong thing, because my Steak Sandwich was below average. It came on a Ciabatta Roll, which made it difficult to eat. The steak and vegetables kept spilling out of the sides and it didn't have much flavor. Our service was terrible. The waiter took a long time to take our drink order, deliver our food, and then bring our check. I don't think I'll eat there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Fun times and good pizza”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place has a better selection of beer than you would think to go along with its great pizza. The TVs inside where nice and this place is growler friendly for the beer fans.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Split decision”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I am torn with this review. This place always seems to have a split personality. The food is always good. The pizza has won all kinds of awards, but the service is often spotty.

The bar service is downright slow, if not sometimes rude. The bartenders barely made eye contact at our last visit. It took 15 minutes to order two beers and that was after they took orders from people who came to the bar after I did. It seems like they always run out of clean glassware and are often out of popular beers; Friday night and no Miller Lite, no Edmund Fitzgerald. Everyone in our party wondered why we were there.

Like I said, we enjoy the pizza, but they really need help with the bar service.

Helpful?
Thank ricemn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad D, Public Relations Manager at BoomBozz Pizza & Taphouse Westport Village, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We apologize for the less that stellar service that you received during your visit. I have shared your review with upper management and they are correcting the errors that you pointed out. We will also look into increasing the amount of beer kegs we keep on hand. We take our customers' opinions and suggestions seriously and will do everything in our power to make sure that your next visit is more enjoyable. Thank you for your feedback and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BoomBozz Pizza & Taphouse Westport Village also viewed

 

Been to BoomBozz Pizza & Taphouse Westport Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing