We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on a nice summer night”
Review of Garage Bar

Garage Bar
Ranked #63 of 1,785 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Phoenix Hill
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place on a nice summer night”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The appeal of the Garage Bar is the atmosphere along with some very interesting food selections. There is a lot of outdoor seating as well as 2 ping pong tables and it is usually a lively crowd. The renovated gas station still has 2 garage doors that open up, so even if you sit inside you can enjoy the weather on a nice night.
The pizza's are good but not great; the salad we had was very good - shaved asparagus w/mozzarella. A good beer selection and a very good selection of country hams - similar to prosciutto if you haven't had good country ham. The sampler was excellent, served with Blue Dog crusty bread (louisville favorite) and a great aioli.

Also a selection of oysters are available and they were very good as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LS_52_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    99
    44
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great fun outdoor place”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were there on a nice late spring evening and it was so pleasant outside. We sat under the old car pump area roof and ate our dinner. We had pizza, salad and soft serve custard. All were good. They have ping pong tables outdoors and a lively atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trwint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique, spot on, fun and not for the TGIF crowd.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Delicious brunch - beignets, ham bar and pizzas were all really good. We ordered from the bar and sat at the picnic tables as our teens wanted to play ping pong, so hard to really judge the service. (the bartender was nice:) Fun vibe and good execution. And yes, it's not for the TGIF crowd. And that's OK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungryone6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Great selection of ham, and pizzas with light bases that were cooked well, and a few beers of note!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited on a Sunday night in May and the place was full but not over flowing. We sat at the bar and were served by a delightful young attentive chap, who worked continuously all night behind the bar. He also had a great smile, suggesting some great beers (the bourbon flavour my favourite) as well as a great pizza topped with fried kale...and it really did work and was very tasty. The pizza had a crunchy base and was not like the north American stodge that some places serve. It always saddens me when Domino's et al are thought to be good pizzas....they are an insult to the tradition of pizza! Having lived in Italy for two years and being an unashamed pizza snob for the genuine article, the chef knew how to just singe parts of it to develop the flavour, but the base could have been a little thinner. However I was not disappointed with the overall texture and taste. We also had their selection of 4 local hams...and bloody delicious they were too!

The selection of beers on tap were good and varied, and the place does have a great atmosphere.

The location is in the up and coming part of Louisville and it is really worth making the trip here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidbignose!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gem in downtown Louisville!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wow- we were blown away by the quality and experience here! The atmosphere is comfortable and fun - it was my first time in Louisville and I was pleasantly surprised at how friendly and inviting everyone was. I was very impressed by their charcuterie and their pizzas were all unique and the perfect size. If you're a bourbon drinker, I would definitely recommend the District 8 cocktail! We weren't there late, but the outdoor "party" area looked like a blast with ping pong tables and astroturf-covered benches. I will be back to check out their nighttime scene!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamblinAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garage Bar also viewed

 

Been to Garage Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing