We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE IS AWESOME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

i check in the hotel after canceling my reservation to stay the Marriott Courtyard. i was so unhappy with the marriott i had to call back to re reserve my room. Tarha checked me in on the 6th about 8 pm and she was very helpful. i was even able to keep the same rate of 74.99 per night thanks to her. we loved our room so much i went in on sautrday morning and talked to Kimberle and signed up for the Redicard services. she explained to me how it worked and my stay was even added to my account. my room was awesome and the customer service was excellent. i will stay at this red roof any time i am in the area.

Room Tip: always get superior king room it is big enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tasha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review. It is an honor to be compared to the Marriott. I will be sure to tell Tahra and Kimberle how pleased you were with the service you received.

I am glad you are going to continue staying with us when you are in town. You should check out some of the great museums like The Kentucky Derby Museum, The Louisville Slugger Museum or The Muhammad Ali Museum. They are all within 6 miles to the hotel. If you are a little more adventuresome you might want to try the Zip Lines at the Mega Caverns.

I look forward to seeing you soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 487 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

The room was poorly cleaned. We woke up in the middle of the night and found multiple bugs. Disgusting. It is very hard to go back to sleep after finding them in the bathroom and the bedroom. It is also not in a great area and did not feel terribly safe. This is the worst place we have stayed in a long time. We are highly disgusted and not happy customers. We will be confronting the management in the AM.

We were expecting barebones, but also expected basic cleanliness and not to have bugs possibly hitchhiking in our luggage. Way too expensive to be dirty and bug infested. Also the toilet paper had not been replenished and no spare roll in the room...though that seems minor compared to the lack of vacuuming, dirty sheets and BUGS. Did I mention lots of gross bugs? This place needs major cleaning and to hire an exterminator immediately.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

I am so sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Every room on this property is inspected everyday for cleanliness. I am not sure how we missed your room. My staff is empowered to take care of our guest. If you ever have an issue please call down to the desk and we will take care of it immediately. No one should ever have to stay in a room that does not meet their expectations. Please call me at the property so that we can discuss the issues further. Again, I am sorry.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is well worth the money. My boyfriend and I were looking for a stopover point on our way to Colorado and this hotel fit the bill. The bed was comfortable, the water pressure and hot water were good, and the TV had HBO so we didn't miss Game of Thrones. The Internet is very easy to gain access to and was reliable.

The pillows are rock hard but to me were very comfortable. If you like a fluffy pillow you should bring your own.

I booked on the way in and we arrived around 11 pm. The front staff was very quick and we were in our room in no time.

Room Tip: Doors open to the outside and you can hear people walking outside. Request top floor if that bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you so much for the very nice review. We are very proud of our hotel and take pride in the cleanliness. The beds are brand new and are very comfortable. People either love or hate our pillows. I do have a few softer pillows on property if you find the ones on the bed uncomfortable.

I hope you were able to enjoy some of the amenities the city has to offer. The Louisville Zoo and the zip lines are just about a mile from the hotel, Kentucky Kingdom Amusement park is about 2.5 miles and the Louisville Slugger Museum is only about 6 miles away. You can find something new and fun to do every time you visit.

I hope to see you soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Clean, quiet and comfortable bed. This location is the Hallmark of the Red Roof Brand. The driveway entrance from the main road was difficult to find in the dark of night. It is between a gas station and small strip mall.

Room Tip: Room 237 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dayton_OHJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Being the Hallmark of the Red Roof Brand is a very nice compliment. Thank you so much. We are very proud of our hotel and work very hard to keep it clean and comfortable. We are so easy to see from the expressway but we are a little difficult to find when you take the right on to Bishop Ln. It is a small access road named Red Roof Inn Pl. between the Speedway Gas Station and the small strip mall with all of the good restaurants. There is a Bar B Que place, a Chinese, African and Mongolian Restaurants in that little area. Please come back and see us soon now that you know how to find us.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My family made an overnight trip to Louisville. I checked trip advisor to find a nice place to stay in the Mega Caverns area. This Red Roof Inn had good reviews and the price was right up our alley. When we booked the room I informed them we would be arriving late. I was kind of concerned about whether we would have a room or not since it was around 9:00 pm when we arrived, but we gat the room as promised. The room we had was very clean, and the beds were VERY comfortable. I actually thought the Inn was new and even asked about that at checkout. The lady at the desk informed me that the Inn was over 30 years old and my jaw dropped open. This place looks brand new. The staff I dealt with were very friendly. Great job everyone. Great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H00sier111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review. The staff takes great pride in a job well done and they certainly appreciate it when our guest notice. I hoped you enjoyed your time a the Mega Caverns. I heard that the zip lines are incredible but I'm too big of a chicken to try. On May 24th Kentucky Kingdom will reopen with some great water rides and we are only a few miles from there. If you visit Louisville very often you can get a season pass for $69.99 at Krogers and it can be used during the State Fair in August.. I hope to see you soon.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just 2-3 miles off I-65, right off the Waterson (264) Expressway. Hotel property is neat and clean. Rooms are in good condition with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Recommended a great restaurant, close to the hotel with reasonable prices. Hotel has 3 floors (no elevator) so if you have trouble with stairs ask for a low floor. Far enough off the expressway so there is not road noise yet close enough to be easy to get in and out of - even has a traffic light from their road onto the main road.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room unless you like stairs as the hotel has 3 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnB37091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for the very nice review. I am so glad that the staff sent you to a very nice restaurant in the area. Louisville is very well know for it's great restaurants. The next time you stay you may want to go on the Kentucky Bourbon trail. It is a lot of fun and you can see a lot of the country side.

I am so sorry that my staff failed to tell you where the elevator is. At a typical three story Red Roof Inn you will find it in the center of the building in the breezeway.

Please come back and see us soon and enjoy all of the amenities that the city has to offer.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have stayed here for years for the Derby. The hotel is clean and well cared for but the best part is seeing Debbie,Kelli,Rebecca and Magi every year. They know what room I want. Debbie has an awesome staff which is a reflection of her management style. They help with shuttle services and great restraunts in the area. Looking forward to next year. Rebecca already reserved my room.

Room Tip: Superior king rooms have a microfridge. Keeps the beer cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derby23yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRG1957, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you so much for the nice review. It is always a pleasure to see old friends at Derby time. I will be sure to tell Magi, Kelli and Rebecca how much you appreciate their hard work. It is nice to hear that Rebecca already made your reservation for Derby 2015. I hope you were able to enjoy some very good restaurants or maybe The Kentucky Bourbon trail while you were here. I am looking forward to seeing you in 2015.

Debbie Glasgow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#51 of 98 in Louisville
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Candlewood Suites Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo

Address: 3322 Red Roof Inn Pl, Louisville, KY 40218-4557 (Formerly Red Roof Inn - Louisville SE - Fairgrounds)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > South Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Louisville
#8 Business Hotel in Louisville
#16 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#16 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: $71 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair and Expo is 100% Smoke-Free with Newly Renovated Rooms. The hotel is located 6 miles southeast of downtown Louisville and with easy access to the airport. Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair and Expo are within 5 miles from Bellarmine University, General Electric, Kentucky Fair and Expo Center, and the Louisville Zoo! Churchill Downs, the University of Louisville, Louisville Slugger Museum, KFC YUM! Center, Louisville Science Center, the Kentucky Derby Museum, Louisville Mega Cavern (featuring zip lines and an underground bike park), Derby City Antique Mall and Fourth Street are all within 10 minutes of this hotel. Other nearby attractions include Mohammed Ali Center, Kentucky Bourbon Trail, Kentucky Kingdom, UPS, Ford Motor Company, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Actors Theater and many other museums. Special rates are available for Bellarmine, Sullivan, and U of Louisville. Red Roof Louisville Fair and Expo is 100% Smoke-Free with Newly Renovated Rooms including flat screen TVs and free WiFi. All rooms feature new, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, new modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Experience our free coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. The hotel offers coin laundry facility, elevator, and "On Command Video" with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Louisville Se - Fairgrounds Hotel Louisville
Louisville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing